Cowboy Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
BY FAR THE BEST COOKIES IN THE WORLD!!! I can't believe how well these turned out! I took a commercial baking class in school, and we had a recipe for oatmeal cookies that we would sell to the public, and it was NOWHERE near as good as these cookies! I took some of the suggestions from reviewers and added 1 tsp vanilla and 3 cups of oats instead of 2. They turned out amazing! I didn't freeze them, I just scooped by teaspoonful onto an ungreased cookie sheet and put into the oven for 12 minutes and they turn out perfect! If they dont turn out for you, you must not be doing something right. They are foolproof. As long as you cream together the right ingredients with an electric mixer, they turn out the right consistancy. My mom even agrees that they are the best cookie she's ever had, and thats saying something because she makes hers from my great grandmothers 100 year old family recipe! Thanks so much for posting this recipe! This one is quickly becoming a family fave!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tattoodprincess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
really good cookie, really easy to do. I scoop mine out and freeze them on a cookie sheet, then store them in a zippie freezer bag for ready-to-bake cookies anytime. yes, you can take them out of the freezer and pop them in the oven, just takes a couple minutes longer to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
AWESOME!!! This is the recipe I remember from childhood school lunches!! I added 1 tsp vanilla and omitted the chips. Excellent!! The oil is what gives it that special texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Silver City, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Hold on and let me put down my second warm, chewy cookie for a second to type this...okay, these were amazing! I was skeptical because the oil, butter and sugar looked odd at first, but as soon as I added the eggs, the dough began to look good. And were these cookies ever good! I guess those cowboys really know what they're doing. My changes: Substitution of butter for margarine and the addition of one teaspoon of vanilla. I highly recommend making these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Can't stop eating these cookies! I added a tsp. of vanilla, cut the white sugar to 2/3 cup and added 3/4 cup each of semi-sweet and white choc. chips. Always refrigerate the dough for a couple of hours before you bake the cookies. Otherwise they spread out too much.Truly amazing cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Excellent recipe with adjustments of 3 cups oatmeal, 1/2 cup oil, and 1/2 tsp cinnamon. I used Cinnamon chips!OMG YOU GOTTA TRY IT!! RAVES and left them begging for more! My fav oatmeal recipe and a new tradition in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gibraltar, Michigan, USA
Living In: Woodhaven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Where's the vanilla extract? Great flavor. Used 1/4 c. oil and 3/4 c. unsalted butter and added 1/2 chopped pecans and 1 tsp vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Perry, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I added extra quick oats like some others have suggested (almost 3 cups total!)and these came out great. I didn't increase the sugar with the extra oats and I liked that they weren't sickeningly sweet. My boys aren't big chocolate fans, so these are a great find for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
great cookies! I always get compliments when I make this recipe. I have altered it several times to make cinnamon chip and apple cookies. In this case I would substitute cinnamon chips for butterscotch chips and add about 1/2 Cup (give or take) of a firm cooking apple cut into small chunks. Turns out very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
Yummy, yummy, yummy!!!!! These cookies are great. Kid friendly and adult friendly too. They are so buttery tasting. I omitted the butterscotch chips and used 3 cups of oats. They can't stay around long in my house. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 533) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States