Cowboy Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
For years I have tried to make cookies that were soft and chewy...the kind my hubby loves. I've tried every tip given to me, with little or no success, until NOW! This is the very best oatmeal cookie recipe I have ever made! I'm presently preheating the oven to make a double recipe to take with us on our annual fishing trip up north. I plan to add chocolate chips to a couple dozen, butterscotch chips to others, nuts to some, raisins to some and some will have a little bit of everything!! Thank you for sharing your delicious recipe, Ellie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Vicki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
These were delicious. I didn't have vegetable oil so I used coconut oil and it added a nice little flavor to it. I also used butter in place of margarine. I could see these cookies as good with any sort of add in such as white choc chips, choc chips, nuts, toffee bits, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simpledinners

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
These were awesome! Enough said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I liked this recipe very much. I always read the reviews before trying out a new recipe so I used 2 1/2 cups of oats and added about 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts. THEY WERE OUTSTANDING! I was very pleased with the texture and taste of these cookies. Meant to take a picture but they were gobbled up before I remembered haha! Now my go-to oatmeal cookie recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Great Recipe! Everyone loved this cookie! The only adjustments I made was to add a teaspoon of vanilla and 3/4 cup chopped pecans. The batter was a bit wet as others suggested but did not affect the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
a tad bit sweet, but delicious! I would cut back the sugar next time I make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pryor, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
So simple, easy and good. I was shocked at how easy and tasty these came out. I substituted milk chocolate chips for the butterscotch and they were soooo delish!!! I literally could not eat just one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
These were the bomb; a big hit! I added some dried cranberries and took some vanilla icing to the tops of them right out of the oven so the icing would melt, then stuck the cooling rack in the fridge to solidify the icing. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
It seems that most people gave a rating of 5 stars. While I think the cookies are good, I think they deserve 4 stars. Meaning, I've had better. Essentially, these are Oatmeal Scotchies. You can find a recipe for oatmeal scotchies on the back of the bag of any butterscotch chips. I did make a mistake and used regular oats instead of quick cooking oats, but I don't think this made much difference overall. I chose to make them into very large cookies, only because it was late in the evening and I didn't want to be tied to the oven all night. They are good, and you should try them. But for me, they deserve 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
its ok but i think i put a little to much molasses
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States