Cowboy Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Amazing!! I did add 3 cups of oatmeal, 1 tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp cinnamon. My search for the perfect Oatmeal Scotchie is over. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Great cookies! I did tweak the recipe as others have with the addition of vanilla and some spices(cinnamon,ginger,nutmeg,allspice) Did not increase the oatmeal. Baked for 10 minutes-perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Minden, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
As someone who has a horrible baking addition and makes cookies almost every day (my husbands coworker love me) I have to say this is by far my favorite cookie recipe. I just love the butterscotch and oatmeal and they are nice and soft and chewy with a little crisp on the edges. Also as someone who pretty much alters every recipe I encounter, this is the only one I have yet to change in any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valeria
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
These cookies are too flat. Don´t think that´s my fault. Though they taste very good. They are really chewy, but don´t store them too much. Otherwise they´ll become crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Delicious! Loved these! Just right on the crunch/chewy factor. They don't freeze well after baked, however (they tasted fine but ended up really soft).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Tasty! Baked as written and came out great! Can't wait to try some varieties per other reviewers suggestions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Too much oil. Cookies were too greasy. I am not a super baker. I admit that. And I don't understand the chemistry involved in creating the perfect cookie. I know that baking soda, baking powder, butter, eggs, oven temps, and even cookie sheet material all have a part in making a crunchy, but chewy, yummy cookie ... but doggone it. This was not the right recipe for me. I followed the recipe exactly. I set the timer for 8 minutes and stood there like a hawk to avoid anything dark brown. I was looking for golden cookies. But my cookies turned out very flat, too crispy (hard), and way too greasy underneath. I had to wash and dry my cookie sheets after each batch, and even then, I could see the next round of cookie dough sliding slowly on the sheet in the oven. I have never used oil before in cookies. And I never will again. On a more positive note: My hubby and kids enjoyed them! Butterscotch and oatmeal are an awesome combo ... regardless of my sad chemistry work! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
My little boys love cowboy cookies. So much so that I'm tired of making my usual recipe (which uses chocolate chips, not butterscotch). I gave this recipe a try. My children did not care for it and whined about the "wrong" chips. I, on the other hand, found these to be absolutely ADDICTING! Seriously, this is now my most favorite cookie in the world. When making these (or the chocolate chip version), I use quick cooking or old fashioned oats interchangeably; it doesn't seem to make a difference. My other recipe calls for shortening (instead of the margarine/oil combo), but I detect no differences in flavor or texture either way. I prefer my cookies soft and underdone; my mother-in-law prefers them crispy. This recipe makes good cookies either way. Take them out a little early for soft ones; leave them in a bit for crispy ones. I've even slightly burned them on accident, and they still tasted wonderful. I frequently freeze this dough. Make the dough balls and put them on a cookie sheet (you can put them close together, since you're not baking them yet). Pop them in the freezer. When they're solid, transfer to a freezer bag. Take out and bake from frozen, as many or as few as you like. They are a bit crispier this way, but still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
These were more crunchy than I was expecting and a bit too sweet. But I generally liked the overall flavor, I'll try some variations next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
My son made these for Mother's Day. We added 3/4 c toffee and 3/4 c butterscotch chips. Yumm! My dad always made us oatmeal/butterscotch cookies as a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States