Cowboy Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
These were the bomb; a big hit! I added some dried cranberries and took some vanilla icing to the tops of them right out of the oven so the icing would melt, then stuck the cooling rack in the fridge to solidify the icing. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
It seems that most people gave a rating of 5 stars. While I think the cookies are good, I think they deserve 4 stars. Meaning, I've had better. Essentially, these are Oatmeal Scotchies. You can find a recipe for oatmeal scotchies on the back of the bag of any butterscotch chips. I did make a mistake and used regular oats instead of quick cooking oats, but I don't think this made much difference overall. I chose to make them into very large cookies, only because it was late in the evening and I didn't want to be tied to the oven all night. They are good, and you should try them. But for me, they deserve 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
its ok but i think i put a little to much molasses
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Amazing! Thank you for sharing this recipe! I have baked recipe as is and WWOW, Wonderful. Then I opted to omit the butterscotch chips and oh wow, wonderful. Then I used a combination of reviews and added a tsp. vanilla, and 3 Cups Oats instead of 2, again WOW! I've since varied again and tried adding another reviewer's variation of adding 1/2 C. firm apples. And WOW again! My last personal variation, I added 1/2 Cup Craisen's and 1/4 Cup finely chopped pecans, and oh wow! All I can say is AMAZING & WOW! Again thanks for sharing. Thanks also to all the reviewer's for all the advice & variation's. My incredible & loving husband of 25 yrs., who (used to be) very picky...Enjoyed every one of these variation's of this recipe. I also thank ALL Recipes.com for being the greatest source to my husbands culinary growth! Being a Southern born Rebble, he lived up to his name rebelling any "New" recipe many years back. Living here in Iowa 25 years now, He is now considered a Generic Yankee by marriage & location. When it comes to the food,..well he says...Just consider me an ALL RECIPE MAN! My Thanks to all of you...for helping me broaden my husbands culinary horizen's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Dubuque, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bernard, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Pretty good! I find baking cookies very difficult, and these turned out decently. I added some shredded coconut, because it was left over from some time ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Very good...added extra cup of oatmeal and 1 tsp. vanilla per other reviewers recommendations. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Flushing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Made it 3 times, with butter instead of margarine: 1-original recipe, 2--with 1 c extra oats, 3--with 1/2 c extra oats and cinnamon chips. All were good, better the next day. 1 c of oats made them a little dry; 1/2 c helped them not spread so much. Still like the oatmeal scotchies recipe from Quaker a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Added 3 cups of oats. Added vanilla,chopped up an apple,added handful of brickle bits,and cranberries.Us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Love it!! I also add 1 tsp vanilla extract and sub the butterscotch chips for choc chips or raisins... or both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Great Cookie!!!! nice dough to work with, not too dry. We used real softened butter not margarine in our recipe. We added reese's pieces and m&m candies mixed together to ours and it was a huge hit with the kids (ok, and us adults) !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 556) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States