Cowboy Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I liked this recipe very much. I always read the reviews before trying out a new recipe so I used 2 1/2 cups of oats and added about 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts. THEY WERE OUTSTANDING! I was very pleased with the texture and taste of these cookies. Meant to take a picture but they were gobbled up before I remembered haha! Now my go-to oatmeal cookie recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Great Recipe! Everyone loved this cookie! The only adjustments I made was to add a teaspoon of vanilla and 3/4 cup chopped pecans. The batter was a bit wet as others suggested but did not affect the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
a tad bit sweet, but delicious! I would cut back the sugar next time I make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pryor, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
So simple, easy and good. I was shocked at how easy and tasty these came out. I substituted milk chocolate chips for the butterscotch and they were soooo delish!!! I literally could not eat just one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
These were the bomb; a big hit! I added some dried cranberries and took some vanilla icing to the tops of them right out of the oven so the icing would melt, then stuck the cooling rack in the fridge to solidify the icing. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
It seems that most people gave a rating of 5 stars. While I think the cookies are good, I think they deserve 4 stars. Meaning, I've had better. Essentially, these are Oatmeal Scotchies. You can find a recipe for oatmeal scotchies on the back of the bag of any butterscotch chips. I did make a mistake and used regular oats instead of quick cooking oats, but I don't think this made much difference overall. I chose to make them into very large cookies, only because it was late in the evening and I didn't want to be tied to the oven all night. They are good, and you should try them. But for me, they deserve 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
its ok but i think i put a little to much molasses
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Amazing! Thank you for sharing this recipe! I have baked recipe as is and WWOW, Wonderful. Then I opted to omit the butterscotch chips and oh wow, wonderful. Then I used a combination of reviews and added a tsp. vanilla, and 3 Cups Oats instead of 2, again WOW! I've since varied again and tried adding another reviewer's variation of adding 1/2 C. firm apples. And WOW again! My last personal variation, I added 1/2 Cup Craisen's and 1/4 Cup finely chopped pecans, and oh wow! All I can say is AMAZING & WOW! Again thanks for sharing. Thanks also to all the reviewer's for all the advice & variation's. My incredible & loving husband of 25 yrs., who (used to be) very picky...Enjoyed every one of these variation's of this recipe. I also thank ALL Recipes.com for being the greatest source to my husbands culinary growth! Being a Southern born Rebble, he lived up to his name rebelling any "New" recipe many years back. Living here in Iowa 25 years now, He is now considered a Generic Yankee by marriage & location. When it comes to the food,..well he says...Just consider me an ALL RECIPE MAN! My Thanks to all of you...for helping me broaden my husbands culinary horizen's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Dubuque, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bernard, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Pretty good! I find baking cookies very difficult, and these turned out decently. I added some shredded coconut, because it was left over from some time ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Very good...added extra cup of oatmeal and 1 tsp. vanilla per other reviewers recommendations. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Flushing, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 540) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States