Cowboy Mexican Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Very tasty and easy to do!! Dont forget to spray the crockpot with PAM or a cooking spray so that it doesnt stick. We used a potato masher to mash up the tamales which worked fabulously. Much less messy than mashing with a fork. The appearance of the dish isnt the most appealling (it looks kinda like a refried bean dip), but all the guests at the Christmas party last night devoured it. I got lots of compliments and will definately do it again. We bought two bags of chips (one bag of tortilla chips, one of corn chips) and ran out...I will do three bags next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Strickler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Great Dip! I had a hard time finding the beef tamales, used frozen ones and cooked them in the microwave. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This isn't the best-looking dip, but it is very addictive. Use Velveeta Mexican Cheese for more spiciness, although the original recipe is zippy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
This was so easy and delish, I made it for a beach party mexican themed buffet and 150 people (as much that was left) got to try it and loved it!! This is so tasty, many compliments were given!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Hecht-Sieron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
The recipe was a hit!!! Chopping/Mashing the tamales was very messy but well worth it. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFF0502

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
I was taught a very similar recipe back in the second grade (23 years ago) - just omit the tomatoes/chiles and use cheddar cheese instead of processed cheese - it's really great, so I can imagine this is just as good. I like to add a litte cumin and hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
This was the hit of the party! I used mexican velveeta and jarred chili instead of canned as well as several dashes of lousiana hot sauce, chili powder and a tad of cumin. Everyone fought over the leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munford, Alabama, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
Loved this recipe. I made it for my teenage son's party. Everyone loved it. It was gone in no time! The only change I made was to add more cheese. We used Velveeta, the large block, I believe it's two pounds. I thought it alittle thick without the extra cheese. We didn't change anything else though, which surprised me. It wasn't too cheesy this way. Really good recipe -- thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I love this one, I added a little salsa because I didn't have enough of the tomato's and green chile's and it was great. Only downside was finding right temperature for the crock pot to keep it from burning to the bottom, but also keep it melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souix Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
A very nice change from just the classic rotel dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States