Cowboy Mexican Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
Loved this recipe. I made it for my teenage son's party. Everyone loved it. It was gone in no time! The only change I made was to add more cheese. We used Velveeta, the large block, I believe it's two pounds. I thought it alittle thick without the extra cheese. We didn't change anything else though, which surprised me. It wasn't too cheesy this way. Really good recipe -- thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
This was so easy and delish, I made it for a beach party mexican themed buffet and 150 people (as much that was left) got to try it and loved it!! This is so tasty, many compliments were given!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Hecht-Sieron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
This was the hit of the party! I used mexican velveeta and jarred chili instead of canned as well as several dashes of lousiana hot sauce, chili powder and a tad of cumin. Everyone fought over the leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munford, Alabama, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Very tasty and easy to do!! Dont forget to spray the crockpot with PAM or a cooking spray so that it doesnt stick. We used a potato masher to mash up the tamales which worked fabulously. Much less messy than mashing with a fork. The appearance of the dish isnt the most appealling (it looks kinda like a refried bean dip), but all the guests at the Christmas party last night devoured it. I got lots of compliments and will definately do it again. We bought two bags of chips (one bag of tortilla chips, one of corn chips) and ran out...I will do three bags next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Strickler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Great Dip! I had a hard time finding the beef tamales, used frozen ones and cooked them in the microwave. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
Update: Mar. 08, I made this again and didn't know what to do with the leftovers because it does make alot.... so I created "Encha-males". I warmed white corn tortillas to softened them, dipped them (both sides) in the warm Cowboy Dip, filled them with about a tablespoon of heated leftover shredded chicken and some shredded cheese. I suppose these could be held in a warm oven until you assemble as many as you want, but I served then immediately and just made more as we went along. The oven might dry them out too much. I also added more cheese to the top. Voila! My SO, who is mexican, wanted to know what the "gravy" was.... he said these were excellent! I served them with a salad and the borracho beans also from All Recipes. I hope you try this and enjoy it too! I served this to my card club and everyone loved it. It's not the healthiest dish, but what the heck... Thanks! I did add more hot sauce and used 1 lb of the Mexican velveeta... next time I will increase the "cheese"... I felt it needed more. For the person who said mashing the tamales was "messy"... I used my handy-dandy old fashioned potato masher and it was a breeze! This does make alot so be prepared to share! (Does anyone think it would freeze well?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Wow, what a surprise but I'll be making this again and again! I used a little less than 1 lb of 2% velveeta, 98% fat free turkey chili with no beans, and only 1 can of the tamales, (they have 6 in each can). I also added about 6 ounces of cream cheese too and I loved it. Used the mild form of the Rotel and it was perfect for us! Thanks for this fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
This is one of those classic dips that people love at get togethers. They'll keep coming back for more and beg for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
The recipe was a hit!!! Chopping/Mashing the tamales was very messy but well worth it. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFF0502

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
My husband and I liked the flavor of this dip, but it didn't melt in the slow cooker in 40 minutes. It didn't even melt after an hour, so I would recommend and alternative method of heating it up. Not sure I liked the consistency, either, but would probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States