Cowboy Mexican Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
This was so easy and delish, I made it for a beach party mexican themed buffet and 150 people (as much that was left) got to try it and loved it!! This is so tasty, many compliments were given!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Hecht-Sieron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
The recipe was a hit!!! Chopping/Mashing the tamales was very messy but well worth it. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFF0502

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I didn't particularly like this recipe, it tasted too tamalalee. I don't know if it was the brand of tamales I used, but it was really thick. It was easy, as all I had to do was place it in the crock-pot and cook it. I don’t' think I will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
My husband and I liked the flavor of this dip, but it didn't melt in the slow cooker in 40 minutes. It didn't even melt after an hour, so I would recommend and alternative method of heating it up. Not sure I liked the consistency, either, but would probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
This is one of those classic dips that people love at get togethers. They'll keep coming back for more and beg for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This wasn't awful, but wasn't a hit either. It was just OK. Sort of bland in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
I was taught a very similar recipe back in the second grade (23 years ago) - just omit the tomatoes/chiles and use cheddar cheese instead of processed cheese - it's really great, so I can imagine this is just as good. I like to add a litte cumin and hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
This was the hit of the party! I used mexican velveeta and jarred chili instead of canned as well as several dashes of lousiana hot sauce, chili powder and a tad of cumin. Everyone fought over the leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munford, Alabama, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
Loved this recipe. I made it for my teenage son's party. Everyone loved it. It was gone in no time! The only change I made was to add more cheese. We used Velveeta, the large block, I believe it's two pounds. I thought it alittle thick without the extra cheese. We didn't change anything else though, which surprised me. It wasn't too cheesy this way. Really good recipe -- thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I love this one, I added a little salsa because I didn't have enough of the tomato's and green chile's and it was great. Only downside was finding right temperature for the crock pot to keep it from burning to the bottom, but also keep it melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souix Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States