Cowboy Mexican Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This isn't the best-looking dip, but it is very addictive. Use Velveeta Mexican Cheese for more spiciness, although the original recipe is zippy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Very tasty and easy to do!! Dont forget to spray the crockpot with PAM or a cooking spray so that it doesnt stick. We used a potato masher to mash up the tamales which worked fabulously. Much less messy than mashing with a fork. The appearance of the dish isnt the most appealling (it looks kinda like a refried bean dip), but all the guests at the Christmas party last night devoured it. I got lots of compliments and will definately do it again. We bought two bags of chips (one bag of tortilla chips, one of corn chips) and ran out...I will do three bags next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Strickler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Excellent Dip!My extended family loved this dip when I brought it to the last family get together Very tasty, and pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Commerce, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
Update: Mar. 08, I made this again and didn't know what to do with the leftovers because it does make alot.... so I created "Encha-males". I warmed white corn tortillas to softened them, dipped them (both sides) in the warm Cowboy Dip, filled them with about a tablespoon of heated leftover shredded chicken and some shredded cheese. I suppose these could be held in a warm oven until you assemble as many as you want, but I served then immediately and just made more as we went along. The oven might dry them out too much. I also added more cheese to the top. Voila! My SO, who is mexican, wanted to know what the "gravy" was.... he said these were excellent! I served them with a salad and the borracho beans also from All Recipes. I hope you try this and enjoy it too! I served this to my card club and everyone loved it. It's not the healthiest dish, but what the heck... Thanks! I did add more hot sauce and used 1 lb of the Mexican velveeta... next time I will increase the "cheese"... I felt it needed more. For the person who said mashing the tamales was "messy"... I used my handy-dandy old fashioned potato masher and it was a breeze! This does make alot so be prepared to share! (Does anyone think it would freeze well?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I prepared this for a Christmas party at a friend's house and it was enjoyed by all! We had some left over and it tasted soooooo good! I will be making this again for another party. Smile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
My sister first introduced me to this recipe. She uses Hormel canned tamales, it makes it easier and less messy. This is a great recipe for folks who can't have spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katwoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I love this one, I added a little salsa because I didn't have enough of the tomato's and green chile's and it was great. Only downside was finding right temperature for the crock pot to keep it from burning to the bottom, but also keep it melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souix Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
Loved this recipe. I made it for my teenage son's party. Everyone loved it. It was gone in no time! The only change I made was to add more cheese. We used Velveeta, the large block, I believe it's two pounds. I thought it alittle thick without the extra cheese. We didn't change anything else though, which surprised me. It wasn't too cheesy this way. Really good recipe -- thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
This was the hit of the party! I used mexican velveeta and jarred chili instead of canned as well as several dashes of lousiana hot sauce, chili powder and a tad of cumin. Everyone fought over the leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munford, Alabama, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
I was taught a very similar recipe back in the second grade (23 years ago) - just omit the tomatoes/chiles and use cheddar cheese instead of processed cheese - it's really great, so I can imagine this is just as good. I like to add a litte cumin and hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States