Cowboy Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
I have to admit my expectations were pretty low for this recipe despite the reviews. It just sounded kind of strange and I didn't think it would turn out with a nice consitency with no milk, cream, sour cream, etc. I was very wrong and the reviews were right. I don't usually make mashed potatoes because they are trouble. This recipe is super simple. No peeling potatoes, no guessing how much milk to add, no endless mashing with lumps remaining. This came together like magic. Just boil, drain, and mash with butter and cheese. A great addition to my recipe box and a terrific way to use up fresh produce at the end of the week! Boiling the garlic with the potatoes is genius as well. Try this even if you are skeptical. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Wow! You definitely need a "Cowboy's" appetite for these mashed potatoes! Who would have thought of adding veggies to this comfort food classic and have it taste so good? I have to admit I was a bit skeptical, because I really do like my mashed potatoes with just the basics but this really did turn out to be a nice surprise. So, if you're looking for something different as a side dish for dinner tonight - look no further. Give this a try, you'll be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Why didn't I think of this one before?? I got carrots, corn, and peas into my kids with nary a whimper or whine, plus some calcium and protein with the cheese. All I had to say was 'COWBOY' to my two little boys, and they ate two helpings! (The big boy had 3..) Delicious! This one will be making an appearance on our table OFTEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPASQUASH

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
This makes such a good side dish because you can add or take away what veggies you like..(a good way to get the kiddos to eat them too!!) For those of you who found this to be a little on the dry side...try adding some cream cheese or sour cream. This usually keeeps the potatoes "silky". Thanks for the fun new twist on potatoes Bruticus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I omitted the pepper as I was serving this with Herbed Pork Chops in Mushroom Sauce, I didn't think it would go well together. I used all red potatoes as that was what was on sale today and added more cheese, and a 1/4 c. hot milk to loosen the mash up a little. (It was quite thick.) I liked these, my family was indifferent. I don't think they liked corn in their potatoes. I'd like to try this again with Mexi Corn and the jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2001
These potatoes are awesome! I used extra jalepenos and a little milk. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Great new way to spice up mashed potatoes. Served with our pork chop meal tonight and was enjoyed by all. I used 1/2 green bell pepper, which I added to the boiling potatoes about 5 minutes before they were done. Once it came time to mash, used a little more butter than called for, added a can of drained green chiles, yellow/sweet corn instead of white and a little more cheese. The result? Great!! Will make these again! Very colorful too! Makes the whole table look "pretty."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
It's so simple, I'm almost embarrased I didn't think of it. I added WAY more garlic, and had to omit the corn because I was out (will definitely add it next time). Used real butter, but only about 3 tablespoons, plus about 1/3 cup milk and sharp cheddar. My kids and husband loved it! Boy, I sure did too! This will be a regular on our dinner table. (And, the name DOES help with preschoolers.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
Absolutely fabulous! The only change I made was to add in some green peas. Will definitely make this one again. Thanks for sharing, Bruticus. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
Boy did my family love these. We are potato freaks anyways. This just brought it up a notch. I added lots more garlic as we love that too. Other than that made them just the way the recipe called for. I did double the recipe and they made great potato cakes on the grill the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Prokop

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States