Cowboy Jack's Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Pretty good to start with. I decreased the brown sugar to 1/2 cup, made sure the beer was nice and warm before mixing, (this is more important than you think), added about 1/2 tablespoon garlic powder, then a few shakes of garlic salt, and baked in a stoneware loaf pan, using only half the butter in the recipe. Warm beer will make your dough rise better, trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dudemeister

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
It was really good, but please bake longer than 40+10, mine was still raw in the middle like silly putty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This is my favorite beer bread recipe. The only addition I made was 1/2 teaspoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I made this for the first time today to go with a wonderful spinach salad. It was a very good complement to the salad. I only used a Tbsp of butter and it was still a little too much, but overall delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raymayor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: International Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ray, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I have made this recipe several times, and it's delicious!! I do make a few changes as suggested by others - cut the brown sugar to 1/2 cup, increase the baking powder to 1 tsp, and add 1 tsp salt. When adding the butter to the top, I simply cut several slices (of real butter!)and let it melt on top, making sure to let the buttery goodness ooze down into the crack in the bread as well. One thing I did a bit different this last time - and will do from now on - is to bake the bread in 4 mini loaf pans instead of the larger one. This cut down on the doughiness of the finished loaf and made for a nice even texture. I baked at the same temp, removing the loaves and adding the butter at 25 minutes (instead of the 40), then baking for an additional 10, for a total baking time of 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
It was ok, a bit too sweet for me, and a bit too dense. Mine was swimming in butter but when I pulled it from the oven I "drained it". Wil try it again as it is a good base but needs some tweaking in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Page

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I have used several bread recipes from allrecipes and i can say my family enjoyed this one the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This was very good, but I don't think you need a whole 1/2 cup of butter! I will make again using less butter next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
AS WRITTEN, the recipe is too sweet and too low. I followed the directions, but did not put butter on top as we have a lactose intolerant child in the family. Best used for a "sweet" occasion as a tea, brunch, etc., The "bread" (more like a pound cake) would be excellent with jam, fruit butter, any nut butter, or cream cheese. It does not go with a savory menu at all.The next time I make it, I will use much less sugar, more baking powder, and a bit of salt. I'll report back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States