Cowboy Jack's Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This is so yummy! I did as suggested and used 2 Tbsp of butter and it came out perfectly! The second time I made it with Dr. Pepper and it was excellent! I surprised myself because it was so amazingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
very good but i made the mistake of baking it in a silicone bread pan & it didn't make a loaf, it was too heavy so it was flat & over baked. i will definitely make this again but in a metal bread pan. thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Recipe is great! I only used 1/4 c. butter instead of 1/2 c. I also found that freezing the bread allows you to cut it into thinner slices without it crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mowe3415

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baker City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
The first time I made this it was just ok, I tried it again with less butter, more baking powder, and a dash of salt. I can not stop making it, Dark beer has the best flavor. this recipe will be used alot in my home. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Liberty, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This is hands down the best beer bread recipe! Can't stop eating the darn stuff. I always tweek recipes and I'm sure this is great as written but I did make a few changes for my own taste. I added 2 tablespoons of honey, 1/4 teaspoon salt,Penzeys spices: oregano,basil and pizza seasoning all to taste. Don't forget to use REAL butter! Wonderful! Thank you for a great recipe...it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
We have tried several recipes for beer bread this year. My husband likes to try different types of beers at micro-breweries across the country. This was excellent. We used a specialty beer ver dark from germany. Not sure if the beer would make a difference in taste but we sure enjoyed it! I have told family and friends and they enjoy just as much. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I've made this recipe twice. Both times the bread has been great. I'm making the recipe again today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elisa B.
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
We loved it. I used slightly less brown sugar and added a little salt. Yummmmy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I made this for Christmas dinner (yes, we're tired of rolls) and everyone loved it! I followed the recipe to the letter; the only thing I did which is not mentioned here is I let it rise a bit before baking; I poured dough into the bread pan & let it sit on to of the stove/oven for a while where it was warm. Perhaps this is why mine didn't seem more dense than I expected it to be; as others have described here. So, big thumbs up from me as this was my first attempt at home-made beer bread; this recipe was easily better than any restaurant beer bread I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Very easy! Very tasty! We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKGEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States