Cowboy Jack's Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I've had beer breads that were addictive and this was not one of them. I think it had way too much butter and was missing more salt. I would try another recipe for beer bread next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I followed the recipe to the tee and it did not rise at all. It was a big dissapointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was an absolute flop, was tough chewy did not cook in the time it reccommended. I will never make again. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda K
Home Town: Spring Hill, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lebo, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
very good but i made the mistake of baking it in a silicone bread pan & it didn't make a loaf, it was too heavy so it was flat & over baked. i will definitely make this again but in a metal bread pan. thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I've made this recipe twice. Both times the bread has been great. I'm making the recipe again today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
The first time I made this it was just ok, I tried it again with less butter, more baking powder, and a dash of salt. I can not stop making it, Dark beer has the best flavor. this recipe will be used alot in my home. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Liberty, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
The bread tastes good, however, because of the butter the texture around the outside is the same as if it is not cooked properly, the inside is cooked but it is really really moist around the outside. Next time I will add butter to the mixture as opposed to the outside to see if it will turn out a bit better. I added some shredded cheddar cheese and a jalapeno to the mixture. It gave it some good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was pretty good, but I like really sweet things. It was best when eaten warm. The only thing that went wrong with this was my choice of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This was quite an easy recipe, but I definitely agree with a couple of the other reviews - it's too sweet, and I normally like things sweet! But this is too sweet for beer bread. I'd bring the brown sugar down to a half cup. I'd also increase the baking powder to 3/4 tsp - my bread did not turn out as fluffy as I'd like. Finally, I would decrease the butter to between 2 Tbs and 1/4 cup. I would try this recipe again with the above modifications. If you're looking for a mild, easy sweet beer bread recipe, then this is a good place to start, and make your own modifications from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I see many people loved this - but not me. I should have known with that much sugar it would be too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States