Cowboy Jack's Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This was very good, but I don't think you need a whole 1/2 cup of butter! I will make again using less butter next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Rodgers Thompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
AS WRITTEN, the recipe is too sweet and too low. I followed the directions, but did not put butter on top as we have a lactose intolerant child in the family. Best used for a "sweet" occasion as a tea, brunch, etc., The "bread" (more like a pound cake) would be excellent with jam, fruit butter, any nut butter, or cream cheese. It does not go with a savory menu at all.The next time I make it, I will use much less sugar, more baking powder, and a bit of salt. I'll report back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Very good, and the family loved it. Taste really good hot and smothered in real butter. Goes good with spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Pretty good bread as long as you reduce the butter. I bake a bunch of thick cut strips of bacon beforehand and then lay them out in the pan as I put a little bit of the mixture in at a time so that their is a couple of layers of bacon within the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Junction City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
The bread itself is nice. Good texture, springy-ness, etc. I did add a bit of salt and extra baking powder as suggested by other reviewers. I also halved the amount of butter I poured over the bread and it was still too much. Our bread pan overflowed and the butter burned on the bottom of the oven. We had a smoke-filled house in the middle of an Ohio winter. I will probably make this again, but without the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I used 1/4 cup of brown sugar, and only about 3 tablespoons of melted butter. The way I made it - five stars - if I'd of followed directions exactly then I'm giving it a four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Made this and loved it...only changes i made were that i used 1-tbsp of baking powder and added 1-tsp of baking soda so that it would rise properly...other than that, it was perfect!!! Loved it ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQsBread

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is the only beer bread recipe I make anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sanford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
good bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and the bread didn't rise at all. I felt like all I did was boil the bread in butter. the bottom looked like it had been carmelized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States