Cowboy Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
This is a good dish which can be made with many variations. For those that are wondering, Ranch Style Brand Beans are made by a company called ConAgra. They are pinto beans with a very light spicy sauce added to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
I have made something like this for years and years. I brown the ground beef then add a can of Campbells Tomato soup (its the best flavor 1 tsp. oragano,1/2 tsp. basil, 2 bay leaves, 1/8 tsp. pepper and 1/2 tsp. salt. Cook for about five minutes to thicken a bit then add veggie of choice I like the beans,but my recipe was peas or carrots, and sometimes corn. I serve it over mashed potatoes and sometimes rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
Quick, easy, inexpensive and delicious! My four favorite words for dinner. My nephew and his buddy stopped by just about dinner time the other night. OH NO, I'm thinking...two really healthy appetites! Instead of wondering if I had enough food for everyone, I just thawed 2# of ground beef in the microwave and finished this meal on the stove. I added a tablespoon and a half of Taco Seasoning from this site to kick it up a notch. Both guys loved it, and the best part, I knew they didn't go away hungry. Very Quick, Very Easy, and Very Delicious.Thanks Hallie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
I served this over corn bread. This made alot for my family of three. We had leftovers, that were even better the next day. My two year old son even liked it! Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This was a pretty good recipe, but it needed a little added to it to make it better. I sauted the beef with some garlic and onion. I added 1 can of tomato paste to give it a base and then seasoned it with adobo seasoning, more garlic(can never have too much right!), and chili powder. Then I added cheddar cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This was very quick and inexpensive but was a little bland. It's almost like a chili but without the seasoning. A packet of chili mix or even tomato sauce would really make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
I added a chopped onion, and tomato soup to give this a little more flavor. Served it over buttermilk bicuits--big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
Quick, easy, cheap, and REALLY GOOD! What more could you ask for? My cowboy loves it and so do my lil' cowpokes! And believe me, coming from them thats saying a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I think this recipe made as-is would be horrifically boring, so I added taco seasoning (using Taco Seasoning I recipe on this site) to the beef after I drained the grease. I used 2 cans of ranch beans, so I'm not sure how many cups that was, but it seemed right. We ate this over mashed potatoes, but I think it would have been better over cornbread. My husband thought it was much more tasty with a drop of sour cream on top. Next time, I think I would make this using chili beans in sauce instead of the ranch beans because you really can't get any easier than this for a quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
This is a quick, hearty and tasty dish. I love it because you can mix and match ingredients, depending on what you have on hand. I added 1/2 packet of taco seasoning when browning the ground beef, and sprinkled shredded cheddar on top when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States