Cowboy Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
This was very quick and easy and was a hit with the whole family (except my picky 2 year old). I did add 1/2 packet of taco seasoning and some tomato sauce as suggested by some other reviewers. Also, I had to use a can of drained black beans rather than the "ranch-style beans" that the recipe calls for. Being from New England, there is no "ranch-style beans" in the grocery stores (what are they, anyway?)! I also had to add a bit of water to achieve the desired consistency. Overall, a good quick recipe for when you're in a pinch for something hearty to feed the troops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
Extremely easy to prepare! And the whole family loved it! I'm a post-op gastric bypass patient, and even I enjoyed a tiny amount of this great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
I have made something like this for years and years. I brown the ground beef then add a can of Campbells Tomato soup (its the best flavor 1 tsp. oragano,1/2 tsp. basil, 2 bay leaves, 1/8 tsp. pepper and 1/2 tsp. salt. Cook for about five minutes to thicken a bit then add veggie of choice I like the beans,but my recipe was peas or carrots, and sometimes corn. I serve it over mashed potatoes and sometimes rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
Thank you thank you thank you Hallie for this recipe! This recipe was a Godsend for me when it was the day before payday and I had lots of essential cooking items missing from my kitchen i.e. milk, butter, eggs etc. I enjoyed the taste although I can't say the same for my kids. It was definately an easy meal to make with spare groceries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
Very good and easy to substitute things. Kids loved it and very simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TxFoodFan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
This is a quick, hearty and tasty dish. I love it because you can mix and match ingredients, depending on what you have on hand. I added 1/2 packet of taco seasoning when browning the ground beef, and sprinkled shredded cheddar on top when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
Quick, easy, inexpensive and delicious! My four favorite words for dinner. My nephew and his buddy stopped by just about dinner time the other night. OH NO, I'm thinking...two really healthy appetites! Instead of wondering if I had enough food for everyone, I just thawed 2# of ground beef in the microwave and finished this meal on the stove. I added a tablespoon and a half of Taco Seasoning from this site to kick it up a notch. Both guys loved it, and the best part, I knew they didn't go away hungry. Very Quick, Very Easy, and Very Delicious.Thanks Hallie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
This recipe is EXCELLANT!!!! Fast, easy, and tasty. I'll make it alot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This is a great meal to make when going outdoors....even around hunting time..the men get so hungry after all that walking that they loved this and now I have to make it all the time..Thank you for sharing this with us...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This was very quick and inexpensive but was a little bland. It's almost like a chili but without the seasoning. A packet of chili mix or even tomato sauce would really make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States