Cowboy Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
First rate cookie, which I kind of suspected it would be if this is indeed a recipe that's survived since the '50s! I followed the recipe as directed, only adding some chocolate covered/candy coated sunflower seeds because hubs loves 'em, and because they're colorful and festive! This embellished oatmeal cookie is light, and both crispy and chewy. It's a darn pretty cookie too, as if it came from an old-fashioned neigborhood bakery, substantial looking with crackly tops. To satisify all preferences I baked some a litte longer than others and while baking time certainly affects texture, all were great! This recipe should be in everyone's recipe box for the basics - not only is it reliably delicious, there is also much room for versatility with add-ins. Try adding different flavored chips, chopped white chocolate, dried fruit or raisins, chopped nuts, even chopped up candy bars. Great as is, this cookie is also definitely worth toying with and customizing to suit your mood or tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I did change recipe a little, using 3/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup vegetable oil. This is my family's favorite cookie recipe by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesli Marshall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
I may have done something wrong but the dough was very dry and crumbly. I had to add milk to thin it and don't know if this was good. The taste is good but the ones I baked before adding milk were hard, hard, hard. Excellent dunkers but not easy to eat otherwise. Help if you can to correct as would like to try again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
The very first time I tasted these cookies was at my Aunt's house when I was a little girl. I copied the recipe that day and have been making them ever since. They have become a favorite of my family and whenever they ask for cookies, this is what they want. Sometimes I use half shortening and half butter for a softer cookie. Other times I use all butter for a richer cookie. Several times I substituted whole wheat flour for the all purpose flour and no one suspected a thing! There are so many variations: use M&Ms or Reeses Pieces, or white chocolate chips and macadamia nuts instead of chocolate chips. Sometimes I add a cup of chopped pecans also. Now that I am a grandmother I am making these cookies for a new audience! Just baked a batch to bring to my Marine son and his family! The best recipes are the kind you can vary with your mood, the occasion, and the ones who will enjoy them. This is that kind of recipe! If made with shortening they will keep a long time and can be shipped to someone away. Wrap 2 back to back in waxed paper or plastic wrap. Place packs in a zipper bag and then in a sturdy box for shipping. There should be minimal breakage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I have never written a review before but this brought back so many memories. My family has been making these cookies for many years. They wonderful and they are supposed to be a bit hard. The reason for this is(according to my mom): They are called 'cowboy cookies' because they traveled well in the cowboys saddle bags when they were out on the range and did not crumble as other cookies did. The harder outer shell was ideal. It sure makes sense to me and I love the story. Just wanted to share that tid bit of information ! Great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This is my husband's favorite cookie recipe. He got the recipe from his Home Economics class in 6th grade. We make them often. He prefers them crispy so he can dunk them in his coffee. I like them softer, so the time to bake them varies from 12-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I used 2/3 cup white sugar instead of 1 cup. Also, toasted oatmeal in 350 degreee oven, then cooled before adding to batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaley_Rae
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
My granma gave me this recipe, it's her signiture cookie. Everyone loves it. My aunts. uncles, cuz's, and friends. She does not whisk. she adds sugar and either adds margarine or shortening. Beats in the eggs, all dry but flour, oats. After beating, add flour and oats, mixing well. Then adds chips. [[It's only one bowl!!]] Really cool seeing up here, thanx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
We loved these, followed the recipe but left out chocolate chips and added raisins. My husband said they turned out very well! Quite a compliment. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Very good and will make them again. I didn't have quite enough chocolate chips so I put in 1/2 choc. chips and 1/2 butterscotch chips. They were so good! I would make them exactly the same next time. This is certainly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garfield, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States