Cowboy Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
These cookies were good but not as spectacular as I was hoping was hoping with such great reviews. They were easy to make, I had to reduce the cooking time by quite a bit. They only took about ten minutes or less to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
First rate cookie, which I kind of suspected it would be if this is indeed a recipe that's survived since the '50s! I followed the recipe as directed, only adding some chocolate covered/candy coated sunflower seeds because hubs loves 'em, and because they're colorful and festive! This embellished oatmeal cookie is light, and both crispy and chewy. It's a darn pretty cookie too, as if it came from an old-fashioned neigborhood bakery, substantial looking with crackly tops. To satisify all preferences I baked some a litte longer than others and while baking time certainly affects texture, all were great! This recipe should be in everyone's recipe box for the basics - not only is it reliably delicious, there is also much room for versatility with add-ins. Try adding different flavored chips, chopped white chocolate, dried fruit or raisins, chopped nuts, even chopped up candy bars. Great as is, this cookie is also definitely worth toying with and customizing to suit your mood or tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I used 2/3 cup white sugar instead of 1 cup. Also, toasted oatmeal in 350 degreee oven, then cooled before adding to batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
The best cookies I've ever tasted and my co-workers also loved. Easy, light and not too sweet!!! I didn't have butter so I did an ingredient search option. Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Cowboy cookies! I always wondered why my mom called her choco chip cookies "cowboy cookies". Does anyone know?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This cookie is great. I didnt have any crisco so i used marg. and added 1/4 cup of flour, i also sub. 1 cup raisens and 1 cup coconut. sooo goood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stayton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
My family loves this cookie! Most recently I made them with the new swirled chip that's milk choclate and caramel combined... turned out really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I did change recipe a little, using 3/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup vegetable oil. This is my family's favorite cookie recipe by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesli Marshall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Kaley_Rae
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
My granma gave me this recipe, it's her signiture cookie. Everyone loves it. My aunts. uncles, cuz's, and friends. She does not whisk. she adds sugar and either adds margarine or shortening. Beats in the eggs, all dry but flour, oats. After beating, add flour and oats, mixing well. Then adds chips. [[It's only one bowl!!]] Really cool seeing up here, thanx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This is my husband's favorite cookie recipe. He got the recipe from his Home Economics class in 6th grade. We make them often. He prefers them crispy so he can dunk them in his coffee. I like them softer, so the time to bake them varies from 12-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States