Cowboy Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by StickySue
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I love the taste of the cookies. the texture is good. The only thing is when I dropped by spoonful the cookies didn't spread out very much. after cooking my first batch. I flattened my next batch out a bit before baking. I also baked the for 8 minutes and checked on the and baked 2-3 minutes more. I added 1 cup of pecan & only put 1 cup chip in them. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This is my favorite oatmeal cookie recipe. We like it best by using the original recipe but omitting the chocolate chips and adding 2 cups of raisins, 1 cup of chopped dried cherries, 1/2 cup coconut and 1 teaspoon cinnamon. Very chewy cookie that is just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
We loved these, followed the recipe but left out chocolate chips and added raisins. My husband said they turned out very well! Quite a compliment. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Very good and will make them again. I didn't have quite enough chocolate chips so I put in 1/2 choc. chips and 1/2 butterscotch chips. They were so good! I would make them exactly the same next time. This is certainly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garfield, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
The very first time I tasted these cookies was at my Aunt's house when I was a little girl. I copied the recipe that day and have been making them ever since. They have become a favorite of my family and whenever they ask for cookies, this is what they want. Sometimes I use half shortening and half butter for a softer cookie. Other times I use all butter for a richer cookie. Several times I substituted whole wheat flour for the all purpose flour and no one suspected a thing! There are so many variations: use M&Ms or Reeses Pieces, or white chocolate chips and macadamia nuts instead of chocolate chips. Sometimes I add a cup of chopped pecans also. Now that I am a grandmother I am making these cookies for a new audience! Just baked a batch to bring to my Marine son and his family! The best recipes are the kind you can vary with your mood, the occasion, and the ones who will enjoy them. This is that kind of recipe! If made with shortening they will keep a long time and can be shipped to someone away. Wrap 2 back to back in waxed paper or plastic wrap. Place packs in a zipper bag and then in a sturdy box for shipping. There should be minimal breakage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I have never written a review before but this brought back so many memories. My family has been making these cookies for many years. They wonderful and they are supposed to be a bit hard. The reason for this is(according to my mom): They are called 'cowboy cookies' because they traveled well in the cowboys saddle bags when they were out on the range and did not crumble as other cookies did. The harder outer shell was ideal. It sure makes sense to me and I love the story. Just wanted to share that tid bit of information ! Great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Excellent. I used a little less chocolate chips and 1.5 tsp. vanilla which are minor changes, based on taste. Cooked only 10 minutes and let them set on cookie sheet before moving to rack. Best chocolate chip cookies I have made and have been cooking for a long time. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
These were easy to make and very good. In 3 days they were gone! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonfly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
These were just OK for me but nothing spectacular. They had a tendency to burn easily. Original Toll House cookies still rule for this type of cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
These cookies were good but not as spectacular as I was hoping was hoping with such great reviews. They were easy to make, I had to reduce the cooking time by quite a bit. They only took about ten minutes or less to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States