Cowboy Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I halfed the recipe - other than that I followed the directions exactly. I thought the dough did not have the right consistency - I cooked a few batches and the cookies took a long time to cook - and they were very flat - stuck to the cookie sheet. I then added a little flour to the rest of the dough and the next batch turned out a little better. If i make these again, I would NOT put the milk in the dough and I would bake them at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YUMMIES2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
The Amish in our area tend to over-sweeten their cookies, so, I cut out 1 cup of sugar and they turned out great. I was out of chocolate chips and used raisins instead. I made them bigger than I normally do because the batch is so large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This made A LOT of cookies! They were gone in two days! Excellent!!! I didn't change a thing & these were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I thought these cookies were just wonderful. A bit on the crunchy side but the flavor is great. Recipe does make a ton even after I cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
These cookies tasted good in the end but overall were very aggravating to bake. I don't think I'll be adding milk next time as it made the mixture far too runny. The first batch stuck together in a giant rectangle in the oven and I had to cut them into slices! Even then they still seemed sticky although eventually set once I'd laid them on a plate to cool. The second batch almost stuck together and still didn't seem to be set. The third batch I added almost half a cup more flour to and they turned out much better. Also, they took at least 30 minutes to cook, if not more. I always thought gas ovens cooked faster but obviously not in this case. I liked these cookies, although they weren't a favourite, but fiance loved them as he really likes coconut and walnuts. So I'll probably have to make them again some time. They were a lot of fuss to make but now that I know to skip the milk they should work out better next time. Try these if you have a lot of time and patience, and skip the milk! EDIT: I made these again, minus the milk. They still took 20 minutes to cook but were much, much better. I'll definitely be making these again now that I know they're far better without the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Andrews, Fife, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
These taste wonderful! I did add a little flour to the second batch that I baked since the first one was a little runny though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I made these for a cookie exchange at work. We had all types of cookies and these were the biggest hit! The recipe makes so many that I brought in extra for my co-workers (we work a 6am shift). Only thing I would change next time is to make fewer, that is unless it's for a cookie exchange again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I bake tons of cookies and did NOT like this recipe at all! what a waste of ingredients! The milk made the oatmeal soft and mushy in the cookie. I was onlyable to save them by adding butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Wow! This makes a ton of cookies. They taste great and the kids did not mind the coconut because of all of the oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dannielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Excellent cookies! I am a coconut fan - this is basically an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie with coconut added, which I love. The recipe as posted is really a double batch, so convert it for half the number of servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States