Cowboy Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
These cookies tasted good in the end but overall were very aggravating to bake. I don't think I'll be adding milk next time as it made the mixture far too runny. The first batch stuck together in a giant rectangle in the oven and I had to cut them into slices! Even then they still seemed sticky although eventually set once I'd laid them on a plate to cool. The second batch almost stuck together and still didn't seem to be set. The third batch I added almost half a cup more flour to and they turned out much better. Also, they took at least 30 minutes to cook, if not more. I always thought gas ovens cooked faster but obviously not in this case. I liked these cookies, although they weren't a favourite, but fiance loved them as he really likes coconut and walnuts. So I'll probably have to make them again some time. They were a lot of fuss to make but now that I know to skip the milk they should work out better next time. Try these if you have a lot of time and patience, and skip the milk! EDIT: I made these again, minus the milk. They still took 20 minutes to cook but were much, much better. I'll definitely be making these again now that I know they're far better without the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Andrews, Fife, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I bake tons of cookies and did NOT like this recipe at all! what a waste of ingredients! The milk made the oatmeal soft and mushy in the cookie. I was onlyable to save them by adding butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
These taste wonderful! I did add a little flour to the second batch that I baked since the first one was a little runny though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
The flavors were great, but the first few batches didn't turn out so well. I increased the baking time, and should have added a few extra tablespoons of flour for higher altitude. I also split the batch in half & added walnuts, coconut, and fresh cranberries to one half, then chocolate chips and pecans to the other half. A good recipe, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I made these for a cookie exchange at work. We had all types of cookies and these were the biggest hit! The recipe makes so many that I brought in extra for my co-workers (we work a 6am shift). Only thing I would change next time is to make fewer, that is unless it's for a cookie exchange again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Awesome recipe. I actually think it would be better without the chocolate chips (kids and hubby LOVED the chocolate chips but the chef in me played around with the recipe a bit). I have made this 3 times and the only thing I keep changing is the chocolate chips. I used cinnamon chips the second time I made these and butterscotch chips the 3rd time. I like it with the cinnamon chips the best (a little harder to find but perfect with these cookies). I also put the cookies on wax paper that I sprayed with cooking spray before baking and had NO problem with cookies sticking to the pan. This is a cookie I will make often. I can't wait for the next school bake sale to show these off!! Thanks Sharon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Lokerson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
The Amish in our area tend to over-sweeten their cookies, so, I cut out 1 cup of sugar and they turned out great. I was out of chocolate chips and used raisins instead. I made them bigger than I normally do because the batch is so large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I scaled this recipe to 1/4. It made 24 cookies. They are my new favorites. I used pecans instead of walnuts, and used a heaping teaspoon to drop cookies. They needed quite a bit of extra cooking time, so I ended cooking the second sheet at 375F. I also sprayed the cookie sheet with PAM on the second tray, since the cookies did not release easily on the first tray. I recommend these cookies. They are chewy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Wow! This makes a ton of cookies. They taste great and the kids did not mind the coconut because of all of the oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dannielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
excellent. i used less chocolate chips and more walnuts, but that is just personal preferance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States