Cowboy Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I halfed the recipe - other than that I followed the directions exactly. I thought the dough did not have the right consistency - I cooked a few batches and the cookies took a long time to cook - and they were very flat - stuck to the cookie sheet. I then added a little flour to the rest of the dough and the next batch turned out a little better. If i make these again, I would NOT put the milk in the dough and I would bake them at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YUMMIES2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
The Amish in our area tend to over-sweeten their cookies, so, I cut out 1 cup of sugar and they turned out great. I was out of chocolate chips and used raisins instead. I made them bigger than I normally do because the batch is so large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This made A LOT of cookies! They were gone in two days! Excellent!!! I didn't change a thing & these were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I thought these cookies were just wonderful. A bit on the crunchy side but the flavor is great. Recipe does make a ton even after I cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
These cookies tasted good in the end but overall were very aggravating to bake. I don't think I'll be adding milk next time as it made the mixture far too runny. The first batch stuck together in a giant rectangle in the oven and I had to cut them into slices! Even then they still seemed sticky although eventually set once I'd laid them on a plate to cool. The second batch almost stuck together and still didn't seem to be set. The third batch I added almost half a cup more flour to and they turned out much better. Also, they took at least 30 minutes to cook, if not more. I always thought gas ovens cooked faster but obviously not in this case. I liked these cookies, although they weren't a favourite, but fiance loved them as he really likes coconut and walnuts. So I'll probably have to make them again some time. They were a lot of fuss to make but now that I know to skip the milk they should work out better next time. Try these if you have a lot of time and patience, and skip the milk! EDIT: I made these again, minus the milk. They still took 20 minutes to cook but were much, much better. I'll definitely be making these again now that I know they're far better without the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Andrews, Fife, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
These taste wonderful! I did add a little flour to the second batch that I baked since the first one was a little runny though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I made these for a cookie exchange at work. We had all types of cookies and these were the biggest hit! The recipe makes so many that I brought in extra for my co-workers (we work a 6am shift). Only thing I would change next time is to make fewer, that is unless it's for a cookie exchange again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I bake tons of cookies and did NOT like this recipe at all! what a waste of ingredients! The milk made the oatmeal soft and mushy in the cookie. I was onlyable to save them by adding butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Wow! This makes a ton of cookies. They taste great and the kids did not mind the coconut because of all of the oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dannielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Excellent cookies! I am a coconut fan - this is basically an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie with coconut added, which I love. The recipe as posted is really a double batch, so convert it for half the number of servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States