Cowboy Cookies (Dunkin' Platters) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Nice cookie, and a welcome change from the "same ol' same ol." I made them twice the size directed, and got 24. A little sweet, but that's what a cookie's supposed to be and that's what milk is for! And the extra sweetness certainly could be because I added a cup of coconut. I made a half recipe, to which I added 1/2 tsp. salt to heighten flavor, and didn't bother melting the butter. The traditional method of creaming the butter and sugars worked just fine. I baked my second batch longer, as I, unlike most people I know, prefer mine a little crispier. My only criticism is that they came out a little flatter than I prefer, and I even chilled the dough first. All and all, a pretty darn good cookie with a nice crackly top, and chewy texture from the oats and corn flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
I've been making "Dunkin' Platters" for years now! My nieces & nephews (and all of their friends) *LOVE* them!!! Add 3/4 cup of chocolate chips for the kids or raisins & nuts for the grumps. I guarantee you will have people asking you for the recipe! This one is a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2000
I did not know what kind of cookie this was. I had been trying out new choc chip and oatmeal all week. This was such a nice surprise. I loved the taste they were crispy on the edges and chewy in the middle. I did add nuts and raisens. I REALLY like this one. Mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I have been making this recipe for over 30 years and I have never had anything but compliments. I add coconut, raisins and chopped nuts (walnuts or pecans). If you want a crisp cookie, leave them in the oven a little longer. If you want a chewy cookie, take them out slightly under-done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Manchester, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I have just made the batter for half a batch of these...As is, the batter is entirely too runny to yield cookies, so I had to add 1/2 cup more oats (this would be 1 cup for full recipe) and 1 more cup of cornflakes (2 cups for full recipe) to achieve a scoopable texture (original batter would have run together on the cookie sheet - maybe this is due to the melted butter/margarine? maybe creaming would have been the way to go?). I will update the review when these are baked (they are currently chilling in the fridge). UPDATE*** I should not have added the 1/2 cup extra oats, as this made the cookies a bit caky (cornflakes didn't affect the consistency). However, the reason for the deduction of 1 star is not the batter (this is due to my changes, and not the fault of the recipe) but the fact that I could taste the baking soda in the final product (and I had already made sure to use a bit less than the 1 tsp specified for the half recipe). NEXT TIME I WILL CREAM THE BUTTER, AND DECREASE THE SODA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very good! I added some milk chocolate chips and walnuts to them and all I can say is YUMMMM......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Yummy! I made these yesterday, and they were delicious. They come out flat, chewy, and great for dunking! They also freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pizzapiepan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
These cookies were made by a teacher in high school. They were so good. I have seen tons of recipes for it and this is the closet I have seen. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThoseCrazySims

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
these cookies are the best I have ever had. I always add coconut and raisins and people love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Trann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I added 3 cups corn flakes and 1 1/2 bags chocolate chips - the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States