Cowboy Cookies (Dunkin' Platters) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Nice cookie, and a welcome change from the "same ol' same ol." I made them twice the size directed, and got 24. A little sweet, but that's what a cookie's supposed to be and that's what milk is for! And the extra sweetness certainly could be because I added a cup of coconut. I made a half recipe, to which I added 1/2 tsp. salt to heighten flavor, and didn't bother melting the butter. The traditional method of creaming the butter and sugars worked just fine. I baked my second batch longer, as I, unlike most people I know, prefer mine a little crispier. My only criticism is that they came out a little flatter than I prefer, and I even chilled the dough first. All and all, a pretty darn good cookie with a nice crackly top, and chewy texture from the oats and corn flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
I've been making "Dunkin' Platters" for years now! My nieces & nephews (and all of their friends) *LOVE* them!!! Add 3/4 cup of chocolate chips for the kids or raisins & nuts for the grumps. I guarantee you will have people asking you for the recipe! This one is a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2000
I did not know what kind of cookie this was. I had been trying out new choc chip and oatmeal all week. This was such a nice surprise. I loved the taste they were crispy on the edges and chewy in the middle. I did add nuts and raisens. I REALLY like this one. Mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I have been making this recipe for over 30 years and I have never had anything but compliments. I add coconut, raisins and chopped nuts (walnuts or pecans). If you want a crisp cookie, leave them in the oven a little longer. If you want a chewy cookie, take them out slightly under-done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Manchester, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I have just made the batter for half a batch of these...As is, the batter is entirely too runny to yield cookies, so I had to add 1/2 cup more oats (this would be 1 cup for full recipe) and 1 more cup of cornflakes (2 cups for full recipe) to achieve a scoopable texture (original batter would have run together on the cookie sheet - maybe this is due to the melted butter/margarine? maybe creaming would have been the way to go?). I will update the review when these are baked (they are currently chilling in the fridge). UPDATE*** I should not have added the 1/2 cup extra oats, as this made the cookies a bit caky (cornflakes didn't affect the consistency). However, the reason for the deduction of 1 star is not the batter (this is due to my changes, and not the fault of the recipe) but the fact that I could taste the baking soda in the final product (and I had already made sure to use a bit less than the 1 tsp specified for the half recipe). NEXT TIME I WILL CREAM THE BUTTER, AND DECREASE THE SODA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very good! I added some milk chocolate chips and walnuts to them and all I can say is YUMMMM......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Yummy! I made these yesterday, and they were delicious. They come out flat, chewy, and great for dunking! They also freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pizzapiepan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
These cookies were made by a teacher in high school. They were so good. I have seen tons of recipes for it and this is the closet I have seen. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThoseCrazySims

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
these cookies are the best I have ever had. I always add coconut and raisins and people love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Trann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I added 3 cups corn flakes and 1 1/2 bags chocolate chips - the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States