Cowboy Cookies (Dunkin' Platters) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
My new favorite cookie. Love the initial crisp and then chewy center. Terrific! I use walnuts and mini m&m's in mine. They're addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This recipe is a hit! I have made these since I was a little girl, and have always loved the brown sugar flavor! I have come to love Special K (instead of cornflakes and Watkins Vanilla Nut flavoring (instead of vanilla). I do add 2 T more of flour, oatmeal, and cereal to beef them up slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
got two thumbs up on these. A keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Fabulous cookie! First time made them, I was begged for the recipe....I added coconut and a little more cornflakes and oatmeal for a bit more 'body'...made 3 times in 2 weeks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I have just made the batter for half a batch of these...As is, the batter is entirely too runny to yield cookies, so I had to add 1/2 cup more oats (this would be 1 cup for full recipe) and 1 more cup of cornflakes (2 cups for full recipe) to achieve a scoopable texture (original batter would have run together on the cookie sheet - maybe this is due to the melted butter/margarine? maybe creaming would have been the way to go?). I will update the review when these are baked (they are currently chilling in the fridge). UPDATE*** I should not have added the 1/2 cup extra oats, as this made the cookies a bit caky (cornflakes didn't affect the consistency). However, the reason for the deduction of 1 star is not the batter (this is due to my changes, and not the fault of the recipe) but the fact that I could taste the baking soda in the final product (and I had already made sure to use a bit less than the 1 tsp specified for the half recipe). NEXT TIME I WILL CREAM THE BUTTER, AND DECREASE THE SODA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Cut the recipe in half, and still ended up with plenty of cookies for the family. We enjoyed the chewiness of the oats and the crunch of the cornflakes. My husband, who always samples the dough, said it was the best dough ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I halved the recipe, substituted pumpkin in place of the butter, and used refrigerated egg product. I forgot to only use half of the bag of cholocate chips, though! I guess that's what you get for trying to be healthy. So, they're almost too chocolatey to taste anything else, but they're good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very good! I added some milk chocolate chips and walnuts to them and all I can say is YUMMMM......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Yummy! I made these yesterday, and they were delicious. They come out flat, chewy, and great for dunking! They also freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pizzapiepan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Nice cookie, and a welcome change from the "same ol' same ol." I made them twice the size directed, and got 24. A little sweet, but that's what a cookie's supposed to be and that's what milk is for! And the extra sweetness certainly could be because I added a cup of coconut. I made a half recipe, to which I added 1/2 tsp. salt to heighten flavor, and didn't bother melting the butter. The traditional method of creaming the butter and sugars worked just fine. I baked my second batch longer, as I, unlike most people I know, prefer mine a little crispier. My only criticism is that they came out a little flatter than I prefer, and I even chilled the dough first. All and all, a pretty darn good cookie with a nice crackly top, and chewy texture from the oats and corn flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States