Cowboy Cookie Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I made 10 of these jars... 9 for Christmas presents and 1 to keep. It took me to my 3rd jar until I found a method and order that worked for me. First - I left out the nuts, and tweaked the directions to indicate that 1/2 cup of nuts could be added with the contents of the jar. Not everyone likes nuts, and with all the allergies today I felt this was safer. Now, to the order. I did oats, flour/spice mixture, brown sugar, white sugar, chocolate chips. I have no idea how one would successfully add 1/2 cup of nuts in addition, which is one of the reasons I am docking a star from the recipe. I made the jar that I reserved for myself, and had to add a little more butter to get the dough to stick together enough. That is the other reason I knocked it down a star. The cookies, however, where fabulous. I only got about 26, and baked them for the lower amount of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This is a great recipe (had to test it out before giving it as gifts). For those who have had trouble fitting the contents into the jar, the following order of ingredients to go into the jar first is what worked for me: 1. Flour (using parchment paper to funnel into the mason jar) 2. Brown Sugar (then I patted down, which in turn compressed the flour underneath it, I also pressed some of the brown sugar against the side (1/2 C. isn't so much that you're going to get a thick looking layer unless you do this). 3. White Sugar 4. Oats 5. Baking Soda / Baking Powder 6. Chocolate Chips (the trick is to put in as much as you can (it won't be the full cup) and then press down on everything. It will compact all the layers underneath it. After that, you'll be able to pour the rest of the chocolate chip cookies in. As you can see, I omitted the nuts. What I did was on the recipe instructions (where they add the butter, eggs and vanilla) is just added the instructions to add 1/2 C. chopped pecans if desired. That way you let the person who's receiving the gift decide if they want the nuts or not. Definitely a great, simple, (delicious), inexpensive & very thoughtful gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jellen724

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I was easily able to fit all the ingredients using a 1L (33.8oz) wide-mouth Ball mason jar, and had 1" of space leftover. As others have noted, the ingredients are listed BACKWARDS. A few recommendations for all jarred cookie mixes: Flour/leavener goes on the bottom, followed by brown sugar and other dense ingredients, and topped with less dense "mix-ins". For ingredients in larger amounts (like flour), mound them in the center to make more room along the perimeter for the next layer. This will give you more defined layers. The resulting cookie dough seemed too dry at first, but eventually came together just fine. I used 1.5Tbs scoops and baked the first batch for 11 min, pulling them when the centers were soft and the edges were barely crisp. They had great flavor, shape, & texture. However, after cooling, these cookies went from chewy to rock hard, moreso than other cookie recipes. I underbaked the second batch, and that seemed to do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I just got this for a gift. The brown sugar was hard as a rock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ntaylor
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I used the 14 serving portion to fit all the ingredients into a quart mason jar. BEST COOKIES EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I also had some trouble fitting the mix in a jar as other people stated. But, these are really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AngelUpSideDownCake
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
The whole recipe wouldn't fit in my jars so I reduced the amount of chocolate chips to 1/2 cup. I made a batch for myself to test them out and they came out pretty good even with the reduced chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimberly1106
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
For a Christmas twist, we added peppermint chips instead of nuts. Really yummy like hot chocolate with peppermint schnapps :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
The cookies are wonderful! I had a problem fitting everything into the jar, after reading other comments know I'll have an easier time next go-round. Going to pkg. ingredients in zip top bags to take in RV for cookie baking. Thanks everyone for great suggestions! Merry Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandmoma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
The cookies are wonderful. I made them into bars, saves time. But, when I got to putting it in a quart jar, the ingredients did not fit. I mean there was alot leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States