Cowboy Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Love this recipe! To make it my own I sub one can of shoe peg corn for the 2 cups frozen and make my own dressing with olive oil, wine vinegar (red or white, both are fine), garlic sale, sugar, salt and pepper. I also gee all of the canned veggies a quick reins (except for the tomatoes. This recipe is always a big hit at family functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Amazing - I couldn't believe how good it tasted. I had had a black-eyed pea salad at catered event and thought it was good so I was looking for a recipe to duplicate it and stumbled across this. This is even better. I didn't have any cilantro, so I omitted that and used a little cumin to add some flavor. We were fighting to see who got to take the left-overs in their lunch as we both could have just eaten a big plate of this for dinner. FWIW - I goes great with Grilled Okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Yum! I had to alter the ingredients a bit to what I had on hand, but the base recipe is great for a hot summer meal or snack. I used seeded diced cucumber and sweet mini yellow peppers instead of the green pepper and jalapeno. I also added one chopped avocado and a couple shakes of Tapatio for a bit of heat. Even my 5 year old gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I've made this twice now and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
So simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I've made this recipe before and its great. For my family I have to cut down on the cilantro though. Not everyone likes it. I used red, yellow, orange, and green peppers just to make it more colorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Liked this recipe very much. I made my own salad dressing with apple cider vinegar, white wine vinegar, oil, poppy and sesame seeds, and sugar. Next time I make it, I am going to add a can of pinto beans, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lifisgud
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I used Tahini dressing and red onions. I think I used dried parsley because that's what was on hand. I also added red kidney beans and omitted jalapeno. I look forward to trying it with fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lifisgud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I boiled dried beans, used fresh tomatoes from the garden, fresh jalapeño, fresh garlic, and red onion and it turned out great! I also used about 1/3 of the Italian Dressing and added lime juice. I left out the cilantro because I can't stand it's smell ever since stink bugs infested Maryland. Too bad - I used to love cilantro before then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TammyNJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reisterstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Excellent! I added one avocado. Served with Tostidos scoops and it was gone with compliments from all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie Cain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States