Cowboy Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2007
I served this at a recent gathering at my house. It was almost gone by the end of the night - and there were only seven of us eating it! The only thing I added was the juice of one lime. It was wonderful that night, and the little bit of left over was even more delicious the next day. What a great way to get your veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEWILLIA521

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
when I first read the recipe, I thought this was too simple to be impressive...but it was fantastic! I made it for a cinco de mayo party and people would not stop talking about it. (They ignored my flan and other way harder things to make!) I almost make a batch weekly over the summer - add grilled chicken or rice etc...for an entire meal. Don't go overboard on the cilantro, too much can kill it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAH243

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This bean salsa ROCKS! It is so good and gets better and better when refrigerated for leftovers. We eat it as a topping on spinach salad as a left-over alternative. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This is a great recipe, however I changed a few things and it made it even better. I completely omitted the Italian dressing and used 1T Balsamic Vinegar, 1T Apple Cider Vinegar, 2T EVOO, 1T sugar, a generous amount of cumin and salt and pepper to taste. I also added cubed avacado, fresh diced grape tomatoes, and added green onion. Tastes so fresh and will last for a couple weeks in your fridge if you can keep it that long =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I make this often for BBQ's. It is great with corn chips, and great with fish or chicken. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Made this for a community picnic and it was a huge hit. Had to give the recipe to several people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This is yummy and easy to make. Fresh cilantro is a must. Gets better the longer it sits. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRITOMART

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bessemer City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Make this recipe the night before to let the flavors meld. Before serving add chopped avocado that has been drizzled with lime juice. The recipe is my guaranteed favorite crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This is always a hit every time I make it. I make mine with fresh garlic and jalapenos and throw in red and yellow bell peppers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I made this for a church potluck and everyone asked for the recipe! It's great too because it's flavorful but not too spicy. My daughter who is 2 has a ton of food allergies loved eating this and it provides lots of fiber and vitamins! You can also add more heat for people like my husband. This is a great dip that you don't have to feel guilty about...oh and definately set it overnight for the flavors to mingle..thanks for a GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States