Cowboy Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Yummy! I used fresh Jalapenos instead of pickled. Next time I will use red onions (or green) and maybe add chopped black olives. This was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
OMG this was soooo good! Needs MORE cilantro and onions though. A little wary about the Italian (what?!) dressing but it was fine. I have to twist my husbands arm to eat vegetables however I couldn't keep him out of this - he LOVED it! Way easy to make! It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Didn't like this at all. Made it as directed but I should have used my own judgement and left out the cilantro and use only half the pepper and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2009
I made a double batch to bring to work and it was all gone by lunch time! I did tweek it a little. I added the juice of one lime, left out the cilantro, and added diced green chiles instead of the jalapenos, then simply served it with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Jo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Outstanding. I only used about half of the italian dressing, that was plenty. I ate this for dinner one night! Would be wonderful with grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Very easy, light & healthy. I used pinto & black beans (couldn't find canned black-eyed at my store), went heavy on the cilantro, and used Paul Newman's light lime viniagrette for the dressing. As a finishing touch, I squeezed a lime over the whole thing. Lime & cilantro are one of my favorite combinations. Guests ate it up. Great on tortilla chips or fritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Very, very tasty! Omitted the cilantro (personal taste). Easy recipe that gets better as it sits. We had some leftover spaghetti noodles that we sliced up a bit and threw in the following day. It was fantastic! I thought I had Zesty or Robusto Italian dressing but didn't. I would've used that instead of straight Italian but it wasn't even missed. It was quite "robusto" enough on its own. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Absolutely delicious ! I was wary about the whole cup of Italian dressing, but it worked great ! I also added a diced avocado and a dribble of lime juice. This is one I'll be making again. Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chorg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I make a similiar dip...HOWEVER i add feta (which makes the dip), fresh garlic and 1 can shoepeg corn. ALso, i serve it with Fritos scoops....EVERYONE loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I made this and took it to school to share with my fellow workers. Everyone asked for the recipe. I doubled the recipe and reduced the jalepenòs to 1 tbsp. for those like me who don't like it too spicy. Excellent recipe. I make it over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States