Cowboy Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
What a hit at a recent party and with all three of my picky Girls! Instead of the "garlic salt" I added garlic powder and a sprinkling of celery seed. With the cilantro ... make sure it's fresh! Fresh makes a world of difference! YUMMY! I did have some leftovers [about a cup +] and made a terrific soup the next day by adding a package of Ramen noodles [no flavor packet used] and just enough water. Very, very filling and very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia*sGirlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, New York, USA
Living In: Schodack, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Delicious and simple. I used fresh jalapeno peppers and black eyed peas that I soaked overnight then boiled in homemade chicken stock. If you use reduced fat dressing, this is practically a Zero-point item on the Weight Watchers Simply Filling program.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is very good. It makes a HUGE bowl... a lot more than shown in the pic, at least 10 servings. I added the zest and juice of one lime, and made sure to add enough cilantro that you got some in each bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Quick, easy, and delicious. Any time I bring this to a party I have to bring recipe cards with it - everyone loves it. I serve it with plain pita chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was great! I made just a couple changes, but I'm sure if you followed the recipe it'd be just as great! I didn't add as much italian dressing, and added a little more garlic salt. Next time I think I'll use fresh grape tomatos instead of canned diced. I served this as an appetizer on taco night and it was definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
A family favorite, this is a summer staple at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Love this recipe. I use pintos instead of black eyed peas and also use red/orange bell pepper (personal preference and it gived it great color). I was skeptical the first time I read this recipe regarding the Italian Dressing....but it is great! The last time I made this, I made it a fancy appetizer by adding rock shrimp and serving in a martini glass....very versatile..thanks Pam for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Very Good!! Made 30 hours in advance of party. I was worried that might have been too far in advance...but it was excellent. Many comments and questions on the recipe. For the Italian dressing I used the 'good seasons' dressing packet mix. To keep Italian dressing from separating, I first whirled dressing for a couple of seconds in blender prior to pouring over beans. I used the trades joe's frozen fire roasted corn, as was previously suggested. The fire roasted flavor was great addition. (someone even asked me how I had roasted the corn) I served this as an appetizer with Tostitos white corn chip scoops. I was planning to serve with Fritos scoops, but when I sampled it with the Fritos, it really overpowered it and made it taste 'off'. Luckily I had time to send my son to the store to pick up other chips :) The tostitos scoops are lighter and seemed to play better with the marinade. It says serving size of 8, but as an appetizer it serves more like 20. I've had similar appetizers, but this one is a great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
YUMMY!!!! I like to call this redneck caviar...being from the south. I could eat this stuff everyday, and it is good for you too! Made exactly as the recipe was written. Don't leave out the black eyed peas like other have said. Trust me, I really don't care for them either, but they don't taste like black eyed peas when they are mixed up with everything. You will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Super easy and very good. This recipe always gets compliments and is eaten up. Like others I used only 1/2 cup calorie wise Kraft Zesty Italian dressing. I also omit the black eyed peas and use pinto beans or more black beans also add a diced red pepper. I have also turned this in to a great chicken chili recipe. I add this recipe ( I use the 1 cup dressing for this) plus 3 cubes chicken breasts in slow cooker on high for 5-6 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States