Cowboy Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I've been making this for several years now and decided it was time to review it. I first learned about it from another source, but now use this recipe exclusively since I have gotten rid of all my cookbooks and only use Allrecipes. I have had requests for the recipe from every place I have brought it. I follow the recipe exactly, using a fat free Italian dressing when I have it. I also have found that if I don't remove the seeds from the jalapeno peppers, it's too hot for my family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnelson204

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
make your own vinaigrette to really make it pop
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is a hit every time I make it for a party! I dont use Italian dressing though. I use lime juice,red wine vinegar a dash of frank red hot and add fresh garlic and salt and pepper also a lil olive oil...green onion goes great as well! Tastes best when left to marinade for 4 hours or so. thanks so much for the recipe! :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Didn't change a thing...absolutely yummy! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Absolutely delish. Made this for a birthday party and boxing match gathering. It was a big hit. Try it over rice and grilled chicken - it's even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I loved this! I did do some changes - I used green onion instead of white, fresh jalapenos instead of jar. I added a CUP of shelled sunflower seeds! Only used 3/4 cup of Italian salad dressing. I think next time I will use more corn, maybe. I saved the juices from the beans, peas, and tomatoes and used it in soup!!! This was such a real hit when I served it everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eloy, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
OMG...this is absolutely fantastic !!! Who needs dinner..give me water, chips and the cowboy caviar and I'm good! Thank you Pam for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This variation of cowboy caviar differs slightly from the one I've seen on other sites. I altered mine to make it more like those. I added one ripe avocado, used fresh tomatoes instead of canned and instead of garlic salt, I used a half a teaspoon of regular salt and 4 cloves of fresh garlic chopped up in a food processor. I also used half the amount of picked jalapeno peppers they call for here. That seems like a crazy amount to me and I do like spicy food. I think that next time I'm going to use the Kraft Zesty Italian Dressing and add some lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Cummings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
So delicious. I made this for a 4th of July potluck, it competed against two other bean salads and won! I think it has a bit too much dressing, I had to drain some liquid off before serving. I omitted the pickled jalapeno peppers. Delicious in a taco salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Yum! excellent with chips as well as on a bed of lettuce for a great salad. Thanks for the recipe! (I used less dressing and skipped the cilantro as I am allergic.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States