Cowboy Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Yum! excellent with chips as well as on a bed of lettuce for a great salad. Thanks for the recipe! (I used less dressing and skipped the cilantro as I am allergic.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Tasted great, everyone raved at my bbq. I didn't have all the ingredients on hand so I had to make due with some variations. People liked the spice, without it being overwhelming. I think ancho chile might also be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This is one recipe that the longer it sits the better it gets. I make it the night before for potlucks at work and by 10am nothing is left but the empty bowl and a few chip crumbs. thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensett, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nora Springs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Very tasty! I used less jalapeno because mine were home-canned and very hot. I also added about a tablespoon of sugar. I love to have this in the fridge for a quick snack. It's also good on a tossed lettuce salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MickeyRenee
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Excellent! I added an extra can of tomatoes, a can of garbanzo beans, and used a whole green peppers and a whole onion. It tasted even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MickeyRenee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
What a hit at a recent party and with all three of my picky Girls! Instead of the "garlic salt" I added garlic powder and a sprinkling of celery seed. With the cilantro ... make sure it's fresh! Fresh makes a world of difference! YUMMY! I did have some leftovers [about a cup +] and made a terrific soup the next day by adding a package of Ramen noodles [no flavor packet used] and just enough water. Very, very filling and very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia*sGirlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, New York, USA
Living In: Schodack, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Delicious and simple. I used fresh jalapeno peppers and black eyed peas that I soaked overnight then boiled in homemade chicken stock. If you use reduced fat dressing, this is practically a Zero-point item on the Weight Watchers Simply Filling program.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is very good. It makes a HUGE bowl... a lot more than shown in the pic, at least 10 servings. I added the zest and juice of one lime, and made sure to add enough cilantro that you got some in each bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Quick, easy, and delicious. Any time I bring this to a party I have to bring recipe cards with it - everyone loves it. I serve it with plain pita chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was great! I made just a couple changes, but I'm sure if you followed the recipe it'd be just as great! I didn't add as much italian dressing, and added a little more garlic salt. Next time I think I'll use fresh grape tomatos instead of canned diced. I served this as an appetizer on taco night and it was definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States