Cowboy Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I've made this recipe before and its great. For my family I have to cut down on the cilantro though. Not everyone likes it. I used red, yellow, orange, and green peppers just to make it more colorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Liked this recipe very much. I made my own salad dressing with apple cider vinegar, white wine vinegar, oil, poppy and sesame seeds, and sugar. Next time I make it, I am going to add a can of pinto beans, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle Lifisgud Brown
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I used Tahini dressing and red onions. I think I used dried parsley because that's what was on hand. I also added red kidney beans and omitted jalapeno. I look forward to trying it with fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lifisgud Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I boiled dried beans, used fresh tomatoes from the garden, fresh jalapeño, fresh garlic, and red onion and it turned out great! I also used about 1/3 of the Italian Dressing and added lime juice. I left out the cilantro because I can't stand it's smell ever since stink bugs infested Maryland. Too bad - I used to love cilantro before then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TammyNJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reisterstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Excellent! I added one avocado. Served with Tostidos scoops and it was gone with compliments from all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie Cain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I make this all the time. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Delicious! I added a 1/2 an avocado. Fairly healthy, but a little high on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Garrison

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I made some changes, some intentional and unintentional, to this recipe and it came out PERFECT! I used all black beans on purpose, because I wanted this to be more like a traditional salsa. Plus I prefer raw red bell pepper to raw green because the taste is less harsh to me. Now onto my mistakes -- I added nearly a whole pepper by accident because I didn't notice the recipe only called for a fourth. I also didn't notice there was onion in the recipe so I accidentally left it out. I used garlic powder and salt separately to taste. I didn't measure anything, so this recipe is pretty much foolproof and very adaptable. This really does change on the second day. The first day it tastes exactly like the ingredients, nothing more, nothing less. The second day it turns into a medley of awesome. I made this for a beach picnic with my boyfriend, and he almost begged for the leftovers (It makes a HUGE amount for two people, even though we vegetarians used it as a light entree). Serving suggestion: Tostitos Scoops! I used Kraft Zesty dressing because it came in a perfect-sized 8 ounce container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I prefer this recipe with a couple of changes - leave out the corn and cilantro, add some green onions and replace the Italian dressing with Asian Toasted Sesame dressing - a friend of my recommended that dressing and I LOVE it . Marinate for several hours or longer in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
LOVED the recipe! I added avocado, but forgot to add the white onion. It still turend out great - what a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States