Cowboy Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
The Kraft Zesty Italian dressing and extra garlic powder really makes this salsa. When I take the time to chop peppers and onions, it is such a great gourmet salsa. My friends have raved over and over when I make this. They even request that I bring it to parties. I've added extra types beans to this as well, which makes it all the more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I am not much of a cook AT ALL but I love this recipe. An equally kitchenly-challenged friend of mine recommended this recipe and told me it was SUPER easy and that I should definitely be able to handle it ( I can , after all, manage to use a can opener successfully!). I just got done and pretty much went with the recipe. I followed another contributor's suggestion that lime juice be used and I happened to have a lime so I squeezed it in. Other than that, I just went with the original recipe.. I tried it after 20 minutes and just added salt. I'm bringing it to a party tomorrow and am rather certain it will be a hit--wish me luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This is great! I added a diced avocado and left out the black-eyed peas, but threw in some extra black beans. Delicious - and a real hit at every party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This was delicious. I didn't use corn or green peppers. I made it and left it in the fridge overnight before eating it, and the next day it didn't look appealing, but it was delicious. It gets better over time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This is a favorite! Sometimes I add cooked shrimp or use balsamic vinegar salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I used a bag of frozen mexican veggie mix, it was already seasoned and chopped so it made it extra easy. I left out the peppers for personal preference and used taco seasoning and garlic salt. We put the caviar in the middle of openfaced cojack cheese and bacon quesadillas. It was so good! We ate the leftovers with chips and then made more!!! It was so easy. It took like 5 minutes to make the caviar and like 10 to do the quesadillas--yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
The best. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I thought this was great, but I made a few modifications. I left out the corn (didn't have any), and made my own Italian salad dressing with olive oil, cider vinegar, garlic powder and Italian seasoning. Also, I don't like cilantro, so left that out too - this is a pretty versatile dish - you could serve it as a dip or a side dish. Ymmm! I highly recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This recipe is always a favorite... and it is SO easy too! I added an avocado and used fat free zesty Italian dressing. It's always best the next day once the flavors mesh, so if you have time to plan that much ahead, make it the day before. It's still excellent when served immediately though! I make this sometimes for just the 2 people in my house and use the it for lunch and make a salad with the cowboy caviar, lettuce, slices of grilled chicken, and fat free ranch, OR make quesadillas with it. YUUUUUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine Brook, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This bean salsa ROCKS! It is so good and gets better and better when refrigerated for leftovers. We eat it as a topping on spinach salad as a left-over alternative. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States