Cowboy Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I made this and took it to school to share with my fellow workers. Everyone asked for the recipe. I doubled the recipe and reduced the jalepenòs to 1 tbsp. for those like me who don't like it too spicy. Excellent recipe. I make it over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This is an awesome recipe. I bring it everywhere and always get asked for the recipe. I don't like tomatoes so I use roasted red peppers in their place. I also use fat free Italian dressing and serve it with baked scoops. This makes it a very healthy snack to bring, without anyone thinking they're eating healthy. I sometimes mix this recipe with lettuce and reduced fat cheese for an awesome southwestern salad. That gets rave reviews also. There are many variations on this recipe, but I like this one the best. Always go for the fresh cilantro as it makes it taste so fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmyAnnDee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
If you are fan of *bright* flavors like cilantro, drop the black eyed peas and use fresh de-seeded jalapenos. I also recommend rinsing any beans before using them for a purer flavor and less sodium. Also, Trader Joe's sells a frozen corn that is "fire-roasted." the kernels are big and striped with the roastedness. Works great in a dish like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsV

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
When I make this, everyone raves. They think that it takes a long time to make. I almost want to tell them that it did, just to impress. But then they ask for the recipe, and find out the truth. I even had a Cardiologist compliment me on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Excellent recipe..used Rotel tomatoes with green chilis and used diced red onion. I used frozen corn and just ran cold water over to thaw, and used olive oil rather than the Italian dressing. You might want to start out with about 1/2 cup olive oil and store overnight in the fridge. The next day, add additional olive oil to get the consistency you want. Excellent with pita chips!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Love this, wouldn't change a thing! Best served with Scoops chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
We LOVE LOVE LOVE this salsa....although I use 6 Roma Tomatoes instead of canned and I also substitute green onion for white. I always make a double batch for crowds...otherwise we run out fast. Our favorite chips are the Scoops hint of jalepeno. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Even kids love it, as well men who claim they hate beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I make this a lot and always get asked for the recipe. I used a canned tomato with jalepeno (drained) and then don't add jalepenos. I also use a roasted red pepper vinagrette. Kraft makes one as well as Safeway Select. I always serve with Scoops but I have had people that eat it as a salad. I always have most everything on hand because it makes a quick last minute appetizer to bring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This is a great combination of flavors, the only thing is that next time I will def half the amount called for. It made so much-great though if you're having a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocksteady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States