Cowboy Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
My husband loves the canned beans with hot dogs, so I used this recipe as a basis for a more homemade meal-worthy version. I used cut up turkey dogs in place of the ground beef, browning in a skillet with the onions. After the dogs had a nice crisp on the edges, I added the beans and BBQ sauce, then I actually baked it with the biscuits on top. He loved the finished product, and informed me I was going to be making more of it for dish-to-pass events at his workplace. I guess that's a vote of confidence if he wants to share it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This was just ok for us. If I, make it again I'll have to tweak it quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Another fast and easy recipe with all ingredients on hand....will make again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This was VERY GOOD! Couple changes - I used Morningstar crumbles (we dont eat meat) and used a can of black beans and a can of kidney beans instead of pork and beans (to avoid it being too sweet...and to make it meatless). Just a note - to get the biscuits to cook through, you need to REALLY simmer this....I had it on low heat with a low simmer and it didnt cook through until I turned it up and did a decent simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim AndJoelle Haseley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
absolutely loved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
We liked this and I would probably make again but we didn't love it and didn't finish the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I made this tonight and this was a sure winner with my Husband! This is budget friendly and easy to prepare on a weeknight. I prepared this exactly as is, but I did pop my Dutch oven in the oven for about 7 minutes to brown the biscuits. My Husband has requested that I make this for him the next time he goes fishing! Sure winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This was a quick and easy lunch for me and the kids today. I used Johnsonville® Italian Ground Sausage in place of the ground beef. It was just a tad salty for me, so I added a splash of vinegar to help offset that. Otherwise, a very flavorful, filling lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Very good. My son loved it. I took the advice of others and added more barbeque sauce and it came out very well. I also used turkey bacon to make it a little more healthier. I will probably use turkey ground meat next time as well and see how that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Just made this for the first time (exactly as written) and it is VERY tasty! Very nice little change of pace and a great mix of comfort food flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States