Cowboy Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Loved the texture of the bread..great flavor..easy recipe..next time i'll try it w/out the nutmeg..my husband didn't care for the nutmeg..all thou he ate 3 pieces...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I am not a baker. That being said, I tried several recipes for flatbread from this site and found them lacking (for my ability). This was, by far, the best and easiest recipe. I did not use the nutmeg because I did not have any on had. I tried them very flat and a little fluffy; baking and frying. Baking makes it very crusty, as does rolling them out real thin - but less oily. The ones I rolled out but not too much fluffed up during cooking. I cut one of each in quarters and very gently opened it with a knife. It worked just like pita bread. Tasted better, in my opinion. For the viewer that said the bread was bland: maybe so, but store-bought pita (in my opinion) is bland, so..... This recipe, however, wasn't as dry tasting as the store bought kind. I am so excited to have found a recipe i could actually follow with great success and am looking forward to adding garlic (to the butter) and other herbs for a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Heaven. The nutmeg adds a interesting flavor, and this bread tastes like naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I have made this bread several times and really enjoy it. I didnt let the dough rise at all last time as I was in a hurry and it still turned out great. I also kneaded it for a few minutes and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Thank you for the wonderfull recipe. The directions are clear and to the point. I followed the recipe as written, even to the point of NOT CHEATING on the kneading time. First batch is already gone. I am working on a second batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Princeton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
amazing! I really did think I had nothing any more to discover about bread, but I was wrong!! very quick and easy way to prepare bread, and much more thrifty than having the electric oven on to bake it in. The bread itself comes out like pitta bread; it is a bit bland, but you can work around it I suppose. It freezes famously and I think it could also be cut to have a sandwich of sort. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
My mother made these when I was a kid many years ago. She served them with butter and syrup like a pancake only much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This is like the fried dough my mom use to make with left over dough from bread making day. She called it fried fritters. mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moommist

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe, I've used several different recipes for flatbread, and this is by far the easiest I've ever used. I made a few of these with different additions, such as sun dried tomatoes, garlic, cinnamon&sugar and cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This turned out great! I made several smalled balls and rolled them out, instead of the 8 big peices, and I dipped them in cinnamon and suger to give it make it more of a sweeter treat. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States