Cow Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
My son is allergic to peanuts. I used this recipe and a jar of chocolate soynut butter. I also subbed 3/4 cup flaxmeal for 1/4 cup of the butter, omitted the corn syrup, reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup of each, added roasted salted soy nuts and used Enjoy Life allergen free mini semi-sweet chocolate chips. I cooked them for 11-12 minutes and flattened some with a fork while cooling them. VERY tasty. Excellent for allergy sufferers. Next time I make them I will try using the Golden Peabutter to replace the peanut butter. I think I will reduce the sugar used next time more since they were still plenty sweet, probably because the soynut butter is sweetened already. Raisins will make there way into this too. Great base allowing for many variations based on tastes and dietary needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I was having a craving for oatmeal cookies and found this recipe. The cookies were awesome! I used a 2T cookie scoop and they turned out crisp on the outside and gooey on the inside. I followed the recipe and used butterscotch chips. My husband, friends, and co-workers really liked them. I will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stewartsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Ummm, if you have a sweet tooth and like peanut butter, chocolate and oats...this is a must try. Crazy good...probably not so friendly on the hips, but oh well. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
A very nice cookie. I made a 1/2 batch with no problem. I used chocolate peanut butter and they had a nice cow pie color. I thought they could use even more peanut butter so I mixed in another scoop of regular Jif to the last tray of cookies.These came out the best, moist and a bit more puffy than the others. If I make these again I will increase the peanut butter by about 1/4 of a cup. I used a bit less sugar than called for as I find most recipes are too sweet. I like that this recipe is a flourless cookie but uses oatmeal to make it a bit healthier. Wonderful when warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FemmeChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ita
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
So easy. My 6 year old helped me make these with ease. We only had white chocolate chips but next time I will definately use dark chocolate. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I'm not sure what cow pies are or what they are supposed to look like (according to other reviews) but these were moist and soooo delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
YUM!!! These were soooo good. In the midst of cooking I realized I didn't have enough peanut butter, but it still turned out perfect! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
A bit crumbly and a bit too much p.butter for my liking, but still a nice little cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I made this recipe for the 1st time yesterday. My husband declared these his "favorite, a man's cookie. It has everything in it we like". For him to say that means a lot! The only thing I changed is I put 4c of oats and 1/2c ground flax seed. I used crunchy peanut butter, the only kind in our house. They're great warm from the oven or pop a cooled one in the microwave...with a glass of milk. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
They are very yummy and I made them as is written. Next time I think I will cream the butter, peanut butter, and sugar first. Then add the eggs, corn syrup, vanilla, and baking soda, and so on. This just seems more logical since mixing the thick peanut butter and butter into the liquidy eggs was a bit awkward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States