Cousin David's Slow Cooker Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I loved the taste of the sauce as it cooked. And the smell was incredible. I used only one bottle of the chili sauce. One reason was I've never used it before, two my hubby doesn't like things too tomato-ey. The meat was great but I do have to agree with other reviewers that the sauce was too tangy once I put it on some egg noodles. I too think that next time at the last minute I will add some brown suger and other things to make sure it isn't too tangy. But all in all I really liked it and plan to make it again with a few minor changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Didn't know what brisket was, But i DO NOW!!! WOW i followed a fellow aussie's tips on making the chilli sauce as we don't have here down under. My husband reckons it's THE BEST meal I've ever cooked in our whole marriage!! I loved it too....HIGHLY RECOMM 10/10 and So So EASY. If you got to WOW someone special/special occasion THIS IS IT!! Thank you for posting. Bless you Cousin David.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Maybe I got the wrong kind of "brisket" but this didn't turned out well. Not the flavor of the recipe ~ it was delicious and smelled wonderful all day. But when I bit into the meat it was chewy and filled with fat. I got what was marked as "brisket" at the store, but I think it was wrong. I was really looking forward to it because it smelled so wonderful all day long. *sigh*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This is EXCELLANT, my husband loved it and you could cut it with a fork !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Absolutely loved it, my first time making beef brisket! It turned out really tender, and smelled wonderfull cooking all day. I only cooked it in the slow cooker for about 5 hours. I added onions, and fresh garlic per other recommendations, can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
The overall taste was wonderful, but the meat was a bit dried out. Will make again, but maybe not cook as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
My boyfriend loved it. I thought it was okay. I didn't love the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was an ok recipe. I only used 1 jar of chili sauce mixed with a little BBQ sauce and minced garlic instead of the powder. I have decided I'm not a big fan of chili sauce. I used a 3# brisket and took it out of the slowcooker after 7 hours. 10 hours would have been way too long. Meat was very tender. Doubt if I would make a brisket this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
My only beef with this (pun intented) was that a beef brisket is kind of expensive and because it is so lean, mine turned out a tad dry. Next time I'll use a chuck roast. The flavor was awesome! A nice change from my standard cr of mush and dry onion soup I usually use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Bowen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Naples, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I made this yesterday and it was so easy. I thought it didn't have as much spice as we like so I added some BBQ sauce and more garlic. My husband really liked it. I will make this again, and I will also share this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States