Cousin David's Slow Cooker Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
While I like the idea of doing brisket in the slow-cooker, maybe I am used to how it comes out when we do it on the grill with barbecue sauce - it came out very chewy (tough even?) and too ketchup-y for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yumms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I saw the mixed reviews on this but gave it a try. This was beyond nasty and I cooked it just like the receipe showed. My husband agreed it was horrible. Made a good meal for the dogs since we couldn't finish it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This is a great, easy recipe. I did a few modifications-used 1 & 1/2 bottles of chili sauce & a quarter cup of red wine.Browned the meat 1st, browned onion and 1 red/1 green pepper and garlic. Meat on top of veggies, topped with sauce. Poured gravy through OXO strainer, blended cooked veggies & mixed w/the gravy-Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This was surprisingly fantastic. I was not sure of the chili sauce, but it added the right kick. The only change I made was add a half bottle of stout beer because I thought the sauce might be too thick, and it still was. next time the whole bottle goes in. My husband loved it and I'll make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loismc
Home Town: Palisades, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Sorry Cousin David...this wasn't one of my favorites. The brisket was overpowered by the chili sauce and that's all we tasted. A very easy recipe, but not a hit in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Very good everyone liked it, and did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This may be my new favorite brisket recipe. I used the ketchup, worchestershire sauce and dry mustard replacement for the chili sauce as suggested by one other reviewer, and I added some Sriracha Asian chili sauce for some heat. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hooker, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Scott City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I did not love the sauce taste of this - would have been better to have your favorite bbq sauce..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
While I am sure people will really like this recipe, it was just okay for me. The flank steak was very tender, but, my own taste buds and the sauce didn't jive. I rate it a 3, but realize others may like it more thus the 4 rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Very good when we prepared just as directed. Alex didn't care for it very much because he doesn't like tomatoey gravey like this...but he ate the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States