Cousin David's Slow Cooker Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Okay so I love my slow cooker and this recipe was great for it! First off my husband and I are from the south and we love for our food to have flavor. This recipe has it! But we also experimented. I couldn't find the Hinez Chili sauce, so we used store brand sweet chili sauce. I added sliced onions to the bottom of the crockpot like someone reccommended in a review. Also, I added hot sauce, chili powder, and cheyenne powder. We love spicy food and this just kicked the flavor to a whole other level! It was AMAZING!! My husband couldn't get enough and ate on it all week bc I cooked so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbcevans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This is a very delicious recipe, but I don't feel like it's good for a brisket - especially if you plan on putting it in a slow cooker. It ends up too soft. Almost all the photos that I've seen have them cut along the grain because that's how it falls apart. I think it makes a better roast than brisket. Still quite good and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faythe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This was nice and tender but the gravy was a little too much like a bbq sauce for my taste and the dry onion soup mix made ut very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made this as a pot roast because I couldn't find brisket at the grocery store. The meat came out super soft and delicious (shredded, not cut), and I added just a little cornstarch to the leftover sauce to make a gravy. Good recipe, will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This recipe was so easy and so very good, added one thinly sliced onion, but followed the rest of the recipe excactly. Husband loved it ... so did I! Served with roast brussels sprouts from this site and baked potatoes. Will definetely make again, Thanks Cousin Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I don't know what I might have been expecting of this recipe. I did use a brisket - not corned beef of course but it turned out more like pot roast and was completely disassembled and did not slice like traditional brisket. It's worth another try though and watch the cooking time. Taste is good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I really expected more from this after reading the reviews. I was very disappointed. It smelled amazing, but was too "tangy" for me. I did try adding a package of the brown gravy but it didnt help. I was hoping for a more BBQ flavor like one my mom used to make and noone has the recipe for, but this was not it. Was worth a try but I will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Great recipe. My husband kept commenting on how tender and juicy this was. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Simple and delicious. BUT, after 8 hours on low, the meat just fell apart. There was no way we could slice it! Next time, I'll cook it for half the time, remove it from the slow cooker and slice it, then return it for the remainder of time. Meanwhile, we're enjoying our "shredded beef brisket!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States