Cousin David's Slow Cooker Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
With the diversity of reviews, I almost didn't try this, but it was either a rave or unedible, so I made it. Very glad I did. It is a very tasty dinner that we have enjoyed and will make again and again. Suggestions: 1. Meat Selection - Do NOT use corned beef brisket.. plain beef brisket should be somewhat marbled with fat for super tender results. 2. Chili Sauce - Use 12oz bottles of Heinz Chili Sauce. If you can't find it, mix 1C Catsup, 1Tbs Worchestershire sauce and 1tsp dried mustard per pound of brisket instead of the chili sauce. 3. Sliced Onion - Put on bottom of crock pot. 4. Sliced mushrooms are a great addition. 5. Potatoes and carrots - Very tasty addition but cook at least 4 hours, but OK to put in the crock pot at the start. 6. Gravy - I used 2Tbs flour mixed in 1/4 Cup water added to the gravy after removing the meat and veggies. We planned to do sandwiches the next day, but liked the veggies so well that I added more veggies and made more sauce/gravy without putting meat back in. 7. Extend sauce - I used 2 Cups catsup, 2 packs onion soup mix, 3 Cups water and 3 beef bullion cubes. Thickened with flour/water mixture after cooking additional mixture 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
847 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
If I could give this 10 stars, I would. My kids LOVED this. The only reason this recipe doesn't have a solid 5 star rating is because some people used red pepper sauce instead of CHILI sauce. Look for "CHILI sauce" near the ketchup. Hint: the ingredient is labelled "Chili Sauce". I added sliced onions and 1/2 tsp of black pepper to increase the flavor, but it doesn't need that. Serve with mashed potatoes, green beans and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
361 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galynn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
I have eaten brisket made this way since I was a little girl. The only thing my family did was add sliced mushrooms to the rest of the ingrediets. On Jewish holidays Mom would add a kishke to cook in the pot during the last hour or so. YUMMY! Your Cousin's legacy certainly lives on. Also just a note to you not familiar with brisket. Brisket and corned beef are not the same thing, although a corned beef is made out of a brisket of beef. Corned beef has been cured, or "pickled" before it is cooked - and has a very distinct taste all its own. The Guiness rcipe on this site is wonderful for corned beef. However the BRISKET called for here is just the plain cut of beef. I can't imagine what a horrible mess this recipe would be if you used a corned beef............
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I needed a brisket recipe that I could do in the crock pot...limited oven space! The flavor was good, and the meat was very, very tender. I cooked the brisket overnight, refrigerated during the day, then sliced it, poured the sauce on top and reheated it (covered) in the oven before serving. I will make all my briskets in the crock pot from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This is a delicious & simple recipe. My brisket was about one & a half pounds, so I only used one jar of chili sauce. I cooked it for ten hours, and it was fantastic. The leftovers were good too. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashport, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Very good. My husband loved it. I served it with carrots and potatoes. I had the chili sauce but didn't have any onion soup mix so in a pinch, I substituted brown gravy mix and added my own sliced onions. The beef was very tender and the gravy was delicious. Because I used the brown gravy mix, I didn't have to thicken the sauce. It did that on it's own. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
This was very good, but I only used 1 bottle of chili sauce, because that's all I had on hand. I am not sure we would have liked it with both bottles. There was plenty of gravy for the mashed potatoes even without the additional chili sauce. Salad, Crusty bread and salad along with the potatoes and you have a great easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Great Recipe!!!! Be sure to use Heinz Chili Sauce. Simple, easy few ingredients. Thanks Cousin David!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I am making this for the second time! This was a great dish to make ahead of time for a party-- I sliced up the brisket after it cooked - along with the sauce - then showed up to the party with a basket of rolls so as an appetizer - you could take the small rolls and put the brisket on them. Everyone loved this dish - and when the brisket was gone some were just dipping leftover rolls in the remaining sauce! Very tasty and EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dorothy F
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This recipe was excellent! My family really enjoyed it. The meat was tender and fell apart nicely! The only thing I did differently was I added 1/4 cup of brown sugar to make the gravy a bit sweeter. I added fresh mushrooms ,and onions then served it over extra wide noodles yummy! Thanks for a great recipe. I will make this again for Passover this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yorktown Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States