Cousin David's Slow Cooker Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Absolutely loved it, my first time making beef brisket! It turned out really tender, and smelled wonderfull cooking all day. I only cooked it in the slow cooker for about 5 hours. I added onions, and fresh garlic per other recommendations, can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
The overall taste was wonderful, but the meat was a bit dried out. Will make again, but maybe not cook as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
My boyfriend loved it. I thought it was okay. I didn't love the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was an ok recipe. I only used 1 jar of chili sauce mixed with a little BBQ sauce and minced garlic instead of the powder. I have decided I'm not a big fan of chili sauce. I used a 3# brisket and took it out of the slowcooker after 7 hours. 10 hours would have been way too long. Meat was very tender. Doubt if I would make a brisket this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
My only beef with this (pun intented) was that a beef brisket is kind of expensive and because it is so lean, mine turned out a tad dry. Next time I'll use a chuck roast. The flavor was awesome! A nice change from my standard cr of mush and dry onion soup I usually use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Bowen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Naples, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I made this yesterday and it was so easy. I thought it didn't have as much spice as we like so I added some BBQ sauce and more garlic. My husband really liked it. I will make this again, and I will also share this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
The first time I made this I did not like it at all. It took a lot of brown sugar just to make it edible. The taste was too vinegar-y for me. However, I decided to try again and used half bbq sauce and half chili sauce and again added brown sugar; and the second time I thought it turn out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Fantastic! I tried thickening the sauce with cornstarch the second time I made this, but decided I really like it better unthickened, poured over garlic mashed potatoes. It will make your tastebuds sing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was really delicious, but, wow, is fresh brisket expensive in my area (Maine). Since my son hates a strong onion flavor, I followed another member's suggestion and mixed my chili sauce w/a package of Knorr brown gravy mix and put sliced onions under the brisket. I cooked for at least 10 hours on low and at that point, the meat isn't really sliceable, so much as "chunkable." We really loved the flavor -- the meat just melted in your mouth, and the chili sauce gravy was just delicious. I will make this again when brisket is on sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orofino, Idaho, USA
Living In: North Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Okay so I love my slow cooker and this recipe was great for it! First off my husband and I are from the south and we love for our food to have flavor. This recipe has it! But we also experimented. I couldn't find the Hinez Chili sauce, so we used store brand sweet chili sauce. I added sliced onions to the bottom of the crockpot like someone reccommended in a review. Also, I added hot sauce, chili powder, and cheyenne powder. We love spicy food and this just kicked the flavor to a whole other level! It was AMAZING!! My husband couldn't get enough and ate on it all week bc I cooked so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbcevans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States