Cousin David's Slow Cooker Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Made this just like the recipe called and it was wonderful, will cook this again, but for personal taste will add some cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit. Overall very flavorful, tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pottsboro, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
My family LOVED this recipe. I did it exactly as the recipe called for, and it turned out great. A little too much sauce, I thought, but the family wants me to make the same way again. Even better the next day. I also cooked it on high for 6 hours, and it was tender enough to slice, but wasn't falling apart like. Thanks to Cousin Dave's cousin for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
For the first time ever, I followed a recipe to a "T". Boy was this one a disappointment! Although extremely tender there was NO taste! The sauce was bland and I expected so much from the chili sauce (we are spicy kind of people). The meat soaked up just juice I guess but no flavor. This recipe will NOT be a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This is a terrific recipe! My family went crazy over it. It doesn't get much easier than this, either. The confusion over the ratings on this, I believe are over the people who used a corned beef brisket. You must use a regular beef brisket and you will not be disappointed. I followed the directions to the letter. I was concerned for awhile that the gravy was too thick and might burn, but all went well. Mashed potatoes go so nice with this recipe so you can put that yummy gravy to good use. This recipe is a great comfort food addition to any recipe box and I will be making this one again. My family is insisting on it-lol. Thanks for posting it! Super easy and tasty is a winning combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
OK not my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This was our New Years Day Dinner. 100% great--added halved sweet onions to the base of the crock-pot and they were soooo yummy after cooking. Had to do it on the high setting which made the meat approach dryness. I'm sure it's perfect when you have time to do it on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rberkee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I loved the taste of the sauce as it cooked. And the smell was incredible. I used only one bottle of the chili sauce. One reason was I've never used it before, two my hubby doesn't like things too tomato-ey. The meat was great but I do have to agree with other reviewers that the sauce was too tangy once I put it on some egg noodles. I too think that next time at the last minute I will add some brown suger and other things to make sure it isn't too tangy. But all in all I really liked it and plan to make it again with a few minor changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Didn't know what brisket was, But i DO NOW!!! WOW i followed a fellow aussie's tips on making the chilli sauce as we don't have here down under. My husband reckons it's THE BEST meal I've ever cooked in our whole marriage!! I loved it too....HIGHLY RECOMM 10/10 and So So EASY. If you got to WOW someone special/special occasion THIS IS IT!! Thank you for posting. Bless you Cousin David.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Maybe I got the wrong kind of "brisket" but this didn't turned out well. Not the flavor of the recipe ~ it was delicious and smelled wonderful all day. But when I bit into the meat it was chewy and filled with fat. I got what was marked as "brisket" at the store, but I think it was wrong. I was really looking forward to it because it smelled so wonderful all day long. *sigh*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This is EXCELLANT, my husband loved it and you could cut it with a fork !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States