Cousin David's Slow Cooker Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I've made this several times LOVE it!! I have also given this to several friends that have also passed to others.. Highly recommend..I have not changed anything in this recipe except the size of the brisket
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly
Home Town: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I absolutely love this recipe. Although I suggest using only 1 bottle of chili sauce- I've made the recipe a number of times with only one bottle, but second guessed myself this morning and added 2 bottles per the recipe. The meat came out way too tangy for my taste tonight- it was still OK, but I'm not excited about the leftovers like I usually am.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnellis8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was a fantastic dish! I also cut 3 onions, 3 carrots, and 2 red potatoes into one-inch chunks and put them on the bottom of the crockpot before putting the meat in. (I skipped the onion soup mix, and added 2 tablespoons brown sugar and a teaspoon of chile pepper.) I cooked it for about 11 hours. The vegetables were fork tender, and the brisket was perfectly done. It was all so easy, and my friends now think I know how to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MackMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Loved it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was good but a little too ketcup smelling, half way through cooking I tried to salvage it with Worcestershire sauce, and ground pepper and onion/garlic powder. The sauce was a little oily for my taste as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made this brisket for Passover for my non-Jewish friends and family and EVERYONE raved about it! Even my friend's 3 year old son always asks if we're having brisket whenever he comes over now! A+++ for any meal. Thanks cousin David!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I am looking for the PERFECT brisket recipe, and although this one was good, it wasn't everything I'd hoped. The sauce has a sweet flavor, and we prefer savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This was my first attempt at brisket. I followed the recipe to the letter. It came out so tender and the sauce was great! The only thing I want to change is to get a bigger crockpot and bigger cut of meat!! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This was so awesome -- wow. I did add some brown sugar, maybe 2 T. Just remember that you need to make the sauce to your liking before you start cooking. If you don't like it at the start, you probably won't like it at the end. Tweak it until you are happy. By nine hours on low, mine was spectacluar. If you think two bottles of the chili sauce will be too tart for you, use one bottle chili sauce and then maybe 12 oz tomato juice or plain tomato sauce. Tweak, tweak, tweak until it's perfect, *then* fire up the slow cooker! The sauce was sooo good sopped up with bread. Yummers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Not a hit in our house. My husband said it tasted "bitter" and the sauce overpowered the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States