Cousin David's Slow Cooker Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
If I could give more than 5 stars, I would! This was so easy and good, we were speechless (scarfing the brisket of course)! We tried this for the first time today and ... wow. Just wow. I have to admit, I changed one little thing, only on preference - I used a dry veggie soup packet instead of onion because my family is not crazy about onions too much. But it's the chili sauce that makes this dish, and I think it would work with anyone's favorite soup flavor. We cooked it in the slow cooker on low for the full 10 hours and it came out so moist and pull-apart that we only needed a fork to cut it. The sauce from the cooker drizzled over the meat was the icing on the cake. Not to mention how great it smelled cooking all day! I'm positive we will be making this one over and over. Thank you for sharing with all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Not bad, but a little too tangy for us. Maybe only one bottle of chili sauce should be used? With a little brown sugar to balance it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Nix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blue Ridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jasper, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I have not tasted it yet, however, my wife check on it while in the slow cooker. She called me at work and told me I will be making this one again Ha! Ha! Thank-you Cousin David, may you RIP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I really enjoyed it! It was simple, and very flavorful. I used Heinz Chili sauce, but it had a flavor very similar to ketchup. My husband who doesn't like ketchup would have preferred a different gravy, so next time I might try it with one of the other sauce suggestions that others have posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
While I have never been a fan of anything that resembled a roast. This is a very simple recipe with great flavor. My wife really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Made this dish last night. It was terrific. Cooked it on top of the stove in an 8 qt stockpot. Added approx. 1 cup of water to the sauce to cover the meat. I left it on for 5 hours over a low flame. Shredded it with a fork and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Overall taste was okay, but the meat was a little dry. Will try again, but not cook as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Definitely loved the texture of the meat; melted in my mouth! However, like most of the other reviews, if I make this again, i'll probably cut it down to 1 bottle of chili sauce and maybe half a packet of the onion soup mix to make it less salty. Nice to try though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexismom2008

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Made this for Christmas overnight...it was AMAZING!! So easy to make, tender...thank you very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States