Cousin David's Slow Cooker Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This was OK, I used a beef brisket and Heinz Chili Sauce. Easy to make and very tender. We really did not enjoy the sauce. May try again using BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julias1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
SIMPLY DELICIOUS! DON'T CHANGE A THING IN THIS RECIPE, IT IS JUST PERFECT THE WAY IT IS. TOO MANY PEOPLE RECREATE RECIPES ON THIS WEBSITE, IT IS NOT NECESSARY. KEEP IT SIMPLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I have been make a similar recipe for 40 years. 3 lb brisket (not a flat, if possible); 1 bottle Heinz Chili Sauce; 1 8 oz. bottle Catalina salad dressing; 2 onions coarsely chopped on bottom; 1 cup dry red wine - NO OTHER SEASONINGS NEEDED! People know me by this brisket recipe - sauce needs no thickening. Left over sauce can be frozen and reused to cook tiny meatballs served over egg noodles or rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was good but i agree that 2 bottles of the heinz sauce (i used both) made it too tangy/sweet and i love tang in my food. I ended up adding a cup or so of red wine to the sauce in the end and it gave the sauce more depth. I refrigerated the meat and the sauce separately after the initial cooking, skimmed the fat off the sauce the next day when it had cooled and the fat had hardened, added mushrooms and the now sliced meat back to the sauce and reheated on the stove top on low. It was good but still a little too sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I did a slight variation because I only had one bottle of Heinz chili sauce. I used that and a jar of salsa, along with the other ingredients. Puts a little bell peppery kick into the flavor. I have made the recipe as is as well. And yes, other reviewers are 100% correct-make sure you are not using a corned beef brisket, and make sure you are using a ketchup based chili sauce, not a hot pepper sauce. Blessings on the family of Dave. What a sweet tribute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisewoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Loved it. We used a spicy/ vinegary chili sauce when marinating (think Hot Wing style sauce) and it was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
If I could give more than 5 stars, I would! This was so easy and good, we were speechless (scarfing the brisket of course)! We tried this for the first time today and ... wow. Just wow. I have to admit, I changed one little thing, only on preference - I used a dry veggie soup packet instead of onion because my family is not crazy about onions too much. But it's the chili sauce that makes this dish, and I think it would work with anyone's favorite soup flavor. We cooked it in the slow cooker on low for the full 10 hours and it came out so moist and pull-apart that we only needed a fork to cut it. The sauce from the cooker drizzled over the meat was the icing on the cake. Not to mention how great it smelled cooking all day! I'm positive we will be making this one over and over. Thank you for sharing with all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Not bad, but a little too tangy for us. Maybe only one bottle of chili sauce should be used? With a little brown sugar to balance it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Nix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blue Ridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jasper, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I have not tasted it yet, however, my wife check on it while in the slow cooker. She called me at work and told me I will be making this one again Ha! Ha! Thank-you Cousin David, may you RIP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States