Cousin David's Slow Cooker Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very Salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Yummy, and it's not BBQ flavor, which is good because I was worried it would turn out just like any other BBQ recipe and I needed something different. I followed it almost exactly, same ingredients but I had to cut the measurements because I only had a 1.13 lb well trimmed piece if brisket and 1 jar of chili sauce. Since it's just my husband and I we don't need 3lbs of meat and I was not going out to buy more, especially since it was already 1:00 and I just decided to make it. So I used the 1.13 lbs, 1 jar of chili sauce, half of the 1oz onion soup mix, & 1 teaspoon of garlic powder (I basically halved everything, even though I was using 1/3 proportion of the meat called for in the recipe and I cut the cook time too). I cooked on low for 3 hours and it came out wonderfully and just in time for dinner! Plenty of sauce to use over the meat and over the mashed potatoes (highly reccomend mashed potatoes with this). Use whatever side veggie you want (green beans were good). The sauce was not too thin, it wasn't thick. I took someone's recommendation and rough cut 1 onion (chunks not slices) and put them on the bottom, then the brisket, then poured the sauce over it. Some people's reviews said it was too tangy or too salty or too sweet, everyone has different taste buds but to us it was perfect. Also you HAVE to use plain brisket not the kind used to make corn beef, they are not the same and would ruin this recipe. I will keep and use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I wish I could not even give this one star. This was the worst crock pot recipe I have ever come across. Followed it to a T and had to throw it out and open the doors to air out the apartment as the smell was so vile and no, it did not burn. I am glad people have been successful with it but I do not know how. I use my crockpot at least 3x a week and this is the worst recipe I have ever made......bar none.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
The longer I cooked it, the better it got. Great flavor, so simple my three year old could do it, and a great, great time saver. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brule, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Wasn't too sure how this was going to turn out. It was my first time using a crock pot and also the first time making a beef brisket. I figured with the simple ingredients, it couldn't hurt to try it. I added a cup of soda to the ingredients because I thought the sauce was too thick and it made a big difference. My hubby who was trained at a top culinary school and is now an executive chef loved it! and wondered where I had gotten the recipe. It's still my little secret. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made this for our families Sunday lunch. It was really easy and appealed to everyone. It wasn't dry and had good flavor. The sauce/gravy was really good. It went well with potatoes, cooked carrots, green salad and bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Decent but too salty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
omgosh bgosh, Cuzzie David, this was the absolutely best way to make brisket I have ever tried and I've been making this for years. My husband even said how delicious it was and had 2nds and would have had 3rds if I didnt want some for myself. I eyed the chili sauce, but the more the better. Thanks for this amazing idea. May try this sauce with pot roast. yummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Super! Will not change anything - it is great! I actually cook at Low for 12 hr - just because did not turned off in time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Not as good as my oven roasted brisket but certainly easy to make. For those who are not familiar with brisket; slice against the grain and you will have nice tender slices. Also, I put onions, carrots and celery on the bottom of the cooker. When done, I put all the juices and vegetables in a blender and puree. It makes a wonderful natural vegetable gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States