Cousin David's Slow Cooker Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I do have to admit I was worried about making this because I have never made a brisket before. I tried a savory garlic and herb soup instead of the onion soup mix and it came out delicious. I cooked it for 12 hours in the crock pot over night and I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Simple but bland. I've never used chili sauce before so I was curious. Strong vinegar smell and the sauce was somewhat sweet. Just not our cup of tea I guess. I'm glad I got my brisket on clearance. I recently made the "Oh So Tender Brisket" recipe from this site and also very simple but it was fabulous. Sorry Cousin David not for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Only change, I always brown the meat first..enhances the flavor of the meat 100%
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Just OK...tasted more like bbq than I expected, and since I like my current BBQ brisket recipe much better, I won't make this again. Not offensive, and it certainly is easy, but not good enough to justify the cost of ingredients. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Had only 1 bottle of chili sauce so added some BBQ as the second. The smells wafting from our kitchen all day were awesome. The brisket was wonderful even though I had a corned beef brisket. Will definitely try this again without the cornning. Yes, it was salty, but the sauce was a hit and today those leftovers will become a pulled beef. Served with baked potatoes and green salad. What a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Delicious, though I made 1 change.....only had one bottle chili sauce. Added 1 cup of red wine in lieu of the 2nd bottle. GREAT. Will make again. Came out tender with lots of sauce. Side dish worthy of adding is Oven Roasted Red Potatoes (add carrots to roast too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
My husband & I liked this but none of our four boys would eat it! They did not like the sauce. Probably will not make again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNJENN43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very Salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Yummy, and it's not BBQ flavor, which is good because I was worried it would turn out just like any other BBQ recipe and I needed something different. I followed it almost exactly, same ingredients but I had to cut the measurements because I only had a 1.13 lb well trimmed piece if brisket and 1 jar of chili sauce. Since it's just my husband and I we don't need 3lbs of meat and I was not going out to buy more, especially since it was already 1:00 and I just decided to make it. So I used the 1.13 lbs, 1 jar of chili sauce, half of the 1oz onion soup mix, & 1 teaspoon of garlic powder (I basically halved everything, even though I was using 1/3 proportion of the meat called for in the recipe and I cut the cook time too). I cooked on low for 3 hours and it came out wonderfully and just in time for dinner! Plenty of sauce to use over the meat and over the mashed potatoes (highly reccomend mashed potatoes with this). Use whatever side veggie you want (green beans were good). The sauce was not too thin, it wasn't thick. I took someone's recommendation and rough cut 1 onion (chunks not slices) and put them on the bottom, then the brisket, then poured the sauce over it. Some people's reviews said it was too tangy or too salty or too sweet, everyone has different taste buds but to us it was perfect. Also you HAVE to use plain brisket not the kind used to make corn beef, they are not the same and would ruin this recipe. I will keep and use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I wish I could not even give this one star. This was the worst crock pot recipe I have ever come across. Followed it to a T and had to throw it out and open the doors to air out the apartment as the smell was so vile and no, it did not burn. I am glad people have been successful with it but I do not know how. I use my crockpot at least 3x a week and this is the worst recipe I have ever made......bar none.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States