Cousin David's Slow Cooker Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This is a very delicious recipe, but I don't feel like it's good for a brisket - especially if you plan on putting it in a slow cooker. It ends up too soft. Almost all the photos that I've seen have them cut along the grain because that's how it falls apart. I think it makes a better roast than brisket. Still quite good and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faythe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This was nice and tender but the gravy was a little too much like a bbq sauce for my taste and the dry onion soup mix made ut very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made this as a pot roast because I couldn't find brisket at the grocery store. The meat came out super soft and delicious (shredded, not cut), and I added just a little cornstarch to the leftover sauce to make a gravy. Good recipe, will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This recipe was so easy and so very good, added one thinly sliced onion, but followed the rest of the recipe excactly. Husband loved it ... so did I! Served with roast brussels sprouts from this site and baked potatoes. Will definetely make again, Thanks Cousin Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I don't know what I might have been expecting of this recipe. I did use a brisket - not corned beef of course but it turned out more like pot roast and was completely disassembled and did not slice like traditional brisket. It's worth another try though and watch the cooking time. Taste is good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I really expected more from this after reading the reviews. I was very disappointed. It smelled amazing, but was too "tangy" for me. I did try adding a package of the brown gravy but it didnt help. I was hoping for a more BBQ flavor like one my mom used to make and noone has the recipe for, but this was not it. Was worth a try but I will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Great recipe. My husband kept commenting on how tender and juicy this was. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Simple and delicious. BUT, after 8 hours on low, the meat just fell apart. There was no way we could slice it! Next time, I'll cook it for half the time, remove it from the slow cooker and slice it, then return it for the remainder of time. Meanwhile, we're enjoying our "shredded beef brisket!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
My family loved the flavor of the sauce in this dish. Definitely an easy meal to come home to after a long day at work. The only problem is brisket, in general, is not a great cut of meat so we were disappointed. I would definetely make again but not with brisket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States