Cousin Cosmo's Greek Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
Very easy, very quick, very delicious! And like another reviewer said, looks stunning on the plate. I added more spinach because I had a pile of it and we all love it; I served it with pilaf and a crisp fennel salad, and it was a great meal. The only thing I think detracts from the dish is the bouillon cube. It made the sauce taste a little fake on my palate. I'd say skip the cube and use chicken broth instead of water. Next time I think I'll also add a lemon juice to the cooking sauce because the flavours would be very complementary. UPDATE: Since I reviewed this recipe, I adapted it to serve at a café where I served as head chef for a time, and it was an absolute HIT! Other than the changes above, I stopped using flour altogether (I don't think a light sauce is a sin; besides which there's no runny sauce that can't be mopped up with something yummy), used cherry tomatoes instead of diced ones, and most importantly, added baby spinach leaves in the last two minutes of cooking, just so they wilt and are still bright green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Decent base to start with but I updated it - since I can never follow a recipe :) I mixed the cheese, lemon juice, and oregano with freshed crushed garlic, some red pepper flakes, salt & pepper AND the spinach. I stuffed the mixture into a pocket I had created in the chicken breast (I did not pound it out). I browned the chicken and put it into a greased casserole dish. I pour the broth (2 cups --I didn't use bullion and water) over the top with a little white wine (1/2 cup), some lemon juice (about 1 TBS) and garlic powder. I baked at 350 degrees for about 1/2 hour till the juices ran clear. Then I put the liquid from the chicken into a sauce pan and thickened with corn starch. I added about 3 TBS of diced petite cut tomatoes, a little more oregano and one pat of butter stirred into the sauce just before serving. I served this over couscous with a greek salad on the side. WOW!!! Thanks for the "base recipe".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhiannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellerose, New York, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I recently served this dish for a dinner party of 5, and everyone said it was restaurant quality. It's fantastic recipe both in flavor and in presentation. Personally, I don't like messing with meat mallets and toothpicks, so I simply cut pockets in the chicken breast halves and stuffed them with the feta mixture. It was delicious and a huge time saver! Next time I will increase the feta mixture because I ran out when I got to the last breast. I also had to increase the flour, salt & pepper mix (for the breading). I guess I must have been using larger chicken breasts that just took a bit more ingredients. Because several reviewers commented on the thin sauce, I used 2 tbsp flour for the sauce instead of just one. With the fully breaded chicken and the flour in the sauce, I had no problem with thickening, and it was the perfect consistency - although, I did end up simmering the dish about 30 minutes rather than 10 as suggested. My final improvise was to use an entire bag of fresh spinach (I imagine it must have been about 4 cups). It was not too much, and again, it was great in both flavor & presentation. I served over orzo, which was good, but I think I will try couscous next time. My family is already asking me to make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
Great recipe! I pounded the chicken & marinated it in fresh lemon juice, olive oil (just a touch), salt, pepper, garlic & oregano before leaving for work. Came home & followed the rest of the recipe (doubling the tomatoes, spinach & using prepared broth + 2Tbsp. cornstarch). It was delicious, especially served with couscous! Light, tasty & healthy! I liked the addition of garlic, but that's just me. Mmmm...the flavors were so refreshing! HINT: If you serve w/ potatoes, use the water from boiling potatoes to mix the bullion & it's an instant thickener!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
Very, very good. Moist, healthy, and delicious. My variation was to slice pocket into the chicken breast instead of pounding, and stuff with feta mixture. I browned it in half a tbs. of butter first. I also used frozen spinach and canned tomatoes, because that's what I had. I really liked it, and so did my S.O..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
My 16 year old son and I made this for his school project. We really liked it. We used arugula rather than spinach. I would recommend using double the spinach and tomato. We also thought the sauce was way too thin and stirred in some corn starch. We used chicken broth instead of water/bouillon and used the rest of the broth to cook the couscous in. We also mixed chopped scallions & pine nuts into the couscous. Delicious and very elegant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dahl House

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This is a 4 star recipe as is, but can definitely be enhanced by following these directions. Next time I will double the amount of feta crumbles (2 containers instead of 1). I used 5 breasts and one container only left enough flavor for a subtle hint of the feta. I squeezed half of a lemon into the cheese mixture, and next time I will use the other half to squeeze on the outside of the chicken while it cooks. I used an entire bag of fresh baby spinach, and will do that again next time too. In addition, I am going to omit the flour next time and just season the chicken breasts with some salt, pepper, onion powder, and garlic. The flour was pretty pointless and it didn't help to thicken the sauce up at all. I ended up adding about 2 1/2 t. of cornstarch to cold water in order to thicken the sauce. I strongly dislike runny sauces with meat, and next time I will actually up this to about 1 T. of cornstarch. I also ended up filling the chicken breast in the middle and then pulling up each side of the breast on top of the filling and sticking toothpicks in that way. Folding it over was not going to work for me, and I think the filling stayed it better this way. This was good, but I would have preferred a slightly more lemony flavor to it, and a bit of a thicker sauce. Both things are easy to rectify, but for those reasons I can't give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
This dish is really delicious. I followed the recipie exactly and it turned out perfectly. I served it on a bed of angle hair pasta. In addition to tasting great, the combination of the chicken, tomatoes and spinach present beautifully on a plate. I am planning on serving this at my next dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This was absolutely phenomenal! I served it with pinenut cous cous on the side and poured some of liquid from the chicken dish over the cous cous to keep it from being dry. My 8 yr. old - picky-eater son LOVED it and has begged me to make it at least once a week since! My husband, who hates feta cheese even loved it. The only thing I had to change was the cooking time. It needed more like 15-20 minutes instead of 8-10. Fabulous recipe...thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I followed some of the other suggestions and substituted chicken broth, added extra spinach and tomatoes and added a little lemon juice to the broth. Excellent, complex flavors served over farfalle. The combination of the feta, spinach, lemon and chicken broth was well balanced and refreshing. I too found that the prep time was understated. None the less, easy with a nice presentation. A great change of pace. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States