Cousin Cosmo's Greek Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was one of the BEST chicken dishes that I have ever made, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This is a 4 star recipe as is, but can definitely be enhanced by following these directions. Next time I will double the amount of feta crumbles (2 containers instead of 1). I used 5 breasts and one container only left enough flavor for a subtle hint of the feta. I squeezed half of a lemon into the cheese mixture, and next time I will use the other half to squeeze on the outside of the chicken while it cooks. I used an entire bag of fresh baby spinach, and will do that again next time too. In addition, I am going to omit the flour next time and just season the chicken breasts with some salt, pepper, onion powder, and garlic. The flour was pretty pointless and it didn't help to thicken the sauce up at all. I ended up adding about 2 1/2 t. of cornstarch to cold water in order to thicken the sauce. I strongly dislike runny sauces with meat, and next time I will actually up this to about 1 T. of cornstarch. I also ended up filling the chicken breast in the middle and then pulling up each side of the breast on top of the filling and sticking toothpicks in that way. Folding it over was not going to work for me, and I think the filling stayed it better this way. This was good, but I would have preferred a slightly more lemony flavor to it, and a bit of a thicker sauce. Both things are easy to rectify, but for those reasons I can't give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Pretty good! I do feel this needs some "tweaking" to be a 5 star recipe tho. First off, let me say that this takes WAAAY more than 20 min. to prepare. By the time you trim your spinach, chop your tomatoes & pound / stuff your chicken, the time zooms by! Another thing to note.... Most everyone has added extra flour or switched to cornstarch to thicken the sauce. A sauce doesn't have to be thick to be considered "sauce." Sauces are lovely when thin - a drizzle of "light" sauce over each chicken breast is exactly what OAKLEY intended. Having said this, I did find it necessary to enhance the sauce a bit (it was lacking "oomph," IMHO). Even though I only prepped 3 breasts, I made enough sauce for 6 breasts. I used chicken broth instead of H2O / bullion & in place of 1/2 c. worh of it, I subbed white wine. I also added a T of fresh lemon juice & 2 minced garlic cloves. I used quite a bit more spinach (1/2 of my 1 lb. pkg. = ~ 5 c.) & 1/2 a pint of halved grape tomatoes rather than a chopped tomato. Both my hubs & I do not care for sauteed spinach, so I added mine during the last 2 min. of cooking time as Morena did. The spinach retained its beautiful, bright color & was only slightly wilted which was perfect for us. All in all, this was very good, but I'd omit the spinach / tomato next time. I really don't think they add to the dish (the sauce, w/ my enhancements, stole the show!). Served w/ couscous & focaccia, this was a decent meal. Thanks for sharing OAKLEY! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I left out the feta because my husband doesn't care for it. Delicious dinner. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
this is one of my favorite meals. i'm so glad i found this recipe. however, i give it two stars because it turns out awful if you make the recipe as it states here. biggest change - omit that water/bouillion/tomato concoction. all i do for this recipe is: pound out boneless skinless chicken thighs. mix together feta cheese, chopped spinach, fresh lemon juice, salt, and pepper. add some of the mixture to each thigh and roll up. put them in a dish and bake them in the oven. baste OCCASSIONALLY with a bit of broth to prevent drying out. this recipe, as is, has way too much liquid and turns into a wet, sloppy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
awesome recipe. I had HUGE breasts from Sams Club (about a pound each) and decided to make a pocket too. Worked out great, but they did take about 30 mins to cook at about 350 in the skillet. I didn't think about the thicker breast/longer cooking time thing so my timing was off...no big deal, the meal was worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elmcityboy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This recipe was amazing!!!! I followed the recipe as written all but one minor detail. We had no spinach or any leafy green to put in the pan so I used the tomatoes and zucchini pieces. It turned out wonderfully! I have never made such an easy dish that packed so much flavour! I served the chicken with a side of lemon roasted potatoes, but I think it would be just as tasty with rice OR pasta on the side! Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe! It's a keeper at my house for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I have made this several times and it is always a huge hit. I use a can of chicken broth instead of the boullion. I like more sauce and this is the perfect amount. I also use more feta and spinach and cherry or grape tomatoes halved. I serve it over basmati rice. I have used angel hair but I prefer serving it over the rice. Thanks for the recipe, it is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Very good! I combined many different reviewers ideas like cutting a pocket to stuff, using chicken broth and lemon juice instead of water, doubling the flour. I also used feta with basil and sun dried tomatoes. Will definitely make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
perfect dish for company
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States