Couscous with Dried Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Tasted like regular couscous, but with cherries. I mean, it wasn't BAD, but I was expecting something sort of different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I love this, but, I do find it a bit dry. So, this is what I did to solve it. I added a second T. of butter, some more water, xtra s. and p,. heated it up to warm. Very much improved. As far as blandness goes, I only use Salt and Pepper, but, I'm sure that it would be good with some other spices. Try a little bit of garlic or onion powder perhaps. Enjoy!! I heated up some Couscous that was done, heated up with a bit of broth and added a handful of cherries, s & p. You can heat this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I thought this was good, a nice alternative for side dishes. My only complaint is that it's a little plain, like it needs something. Otherwise, very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I served this with a fairly sweet chicken recipe, and both the fella and I thought it was perfect. The sweetness of the dried fruit was just enough to carry the sweetness over from the entree, but the savory couscous kept it from being too cloying. I followed the recipe pretty much as written; I didn't have dried cherries, so I substituted chopped dried apricots and dried cranberries. Also, I was out of chicken broth, so instead I used two herbed chicken bouillon cubes in two cups of boilng water. I didn't find it "bland" at all (although it's possible that the spices in the bouillon cubes helped on that front). While it wouldn't make a meal on its own, it was a great complement to a flavorful main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
somehow not very flavorful for us. Needs more cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Simple and delicious. I've served it with roasted turkey, and as a side dish with spicy meat. It's also good for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I only gave this three stars because I ended up changing the recipe. I could tell this was going to be very bland with just the chicken broth, so I ended up adding an additional tablespoon of butter, and three tablespoons of garlic powder. I also threw in a few cubes of canned pineapple. I finished it off with about a tablespoon of lemon juice and a little bit of salt. It ended up having a very subtle flavor, but it was far from bland. I never would have thought to put cherries in couscous, so thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Easy and subtle. I don't like bland food, so perhaps it's the fact that I paired it with a garlicky catfish almondine that makes it so yummy to me. I used raisins, and they plumped up nicely. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I followed the recipe and only added parm cheese at the very end. It was very bland. It needs more seasoning. The fruit is nice and the chicken broth helps, but it needs something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This is a favorite in my house. I cook some garlic in the butter first. I also use dried cranberries and toss in broken toasted pecans at the end. I caught my husband later after dinner standing at the fridge with the leftovers and a spoon! Even my young girls request this for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webb City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Israeli Couscous and Cheese

Check out this deliciously different take on mac and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States